We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“david” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lochcarron Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochcarron Hotel
Save
You added Lochcarron Hotel to your Saves list
Strathcarron, IV54, Lochcarron IV54 8YS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochcarron
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“david”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

visited this hotel really by accident due to car break-down. we were camping and visited for drinks every day twice for 3 days. one of the best places we visited pub-wise on a 3 week holiday in scotland with real-ale and friendly staff. there is a public bar at the back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    19
    18
    16
See reviews for
13
48
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in the summer and we had a wonderful time. Our rooms were clean and spacious and we found Nigel and his staff to be welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the bar each evening and found the food to be excellent value with great choice. the breakfasts were plentiful too. Of course the main attraction is the location of this hotel with its fantastic views over the loch but I really would recommend it and we will definately visit again

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINLITHGOW
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay, not sure if the reviewer who posted such a negative review was in the same hotel but could'nt disagree more. We booked here especially as this is the only hotel in the area which allows dogs to stay with you. The owners themselves having 2 very friendly and cheeky labs called Breaah and Hamish ( mother and son ). We were shown up to our room which was very spacious with views of the Loch. We were informed of meal times etc and felt very welcome at once. The room was clean, well appointed and very warm. The food was excellent, realistically priced, well presented and good choice of menu with lots of specials, had the scallops which were cooked to perfection. Ate in the hotel both nights as food was so good. Best breakfast I have had in a long time, great choice and good quality ingredients. Overall very good value and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 6, great views, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Didnt stay, only had food and a few ales. Got a great seat by the fire looking out across the bay. food was spot on, and was great value, i thoroughly reccommend the steak pie! 3 ales on, but 2 is plenty variety for me anyway! service was fine even though they were very busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

second visit to lochcarron hotel and once again found very welcoming and friendly . had the new disabled suite and 5 star for the accommodation. food was excellent and nice relaxed weekend was had. prices for food and drink was spot on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lochcarron is a beautiful location, well worth a drive through. But we made a mistake making the hotel an overnight stop. The reception is in the bar, which may be a local favourite for a pint but is not an inspiring start. The common area is rather rough around the edges. Access to the rooms above warn you that there is no luxury here. The rooms are not in good shape (the photos created a much different impression), and the washrooms less so....I decided to skip my daily shower. At night, I put a suitcase at the door as it didn't close well.

The talk the next morning with other guests, from Europe, focused on the poor quality of the hotel and its rooms and washrooms. The same view was had by other members of our family...we had 3 rooms.

My wife was very disappointed, as she had done the booking. When we arrived, we tried to find other availabilities in nearby Skye, but there was nothing to be had for the night.

It was the most disappointing stay of the vacation...of any vacation! I hesitated between rating it as terrible or as poor...I chose "poor" as I imagine there may be worse out there somewhere. But when we talk between ourselves, we definitely say it was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I found this hotel on the internet and wish we had decided to stay somewhere else. The room was large but not very clean and was very dingy and outdated. The food however was good in the restaurant. The hotel needs to update their rooms and reception area. There was no one to greet you when you arrived and the service was haphazard at best.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lochcarron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochcarron Hotel

Address: Strathcarron, IV54, Lochcarron IV54 8YS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochcarron
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Lochcarron Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochcarron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.