We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok as a base.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Wemyss Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wemyss Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Wemyss Bay Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean - Wemyss Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Wemyss Bay PA18 6BA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wemyss Bay
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ok as a base.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had booked to stay at this park from Mon - Frid. The park itself is clean and tidy and the caravan (although very small) was clean. We had one meal in the on site restaurant and it was lovely. We didn't go into the other sde where the "turns" were on so cannot comment on that. The staff were very friendly. The reception doesn't open till 9 in the morning and closes at 6 in the evening. The on site shop never seems to open on time but is very quick to close at 6 oclock. The actual approach to the caravan site is up a very long and steep hill. Although there are steps to cut through instead of having to follow the road round it is still a bit of a trek. We left the car at the caravan couple times and walked down fully intending to "trek" back up but we ended up getting taxi at cost of £3. There is absolutely nothing to do at Wemyss bay but is ideal as a base. We visited Isle of Bute (which is a bit run down since my last vist), Isle of Cumbrae which was really lovely. If you go as foot passenger to Cumbrae there is a bus waiting at the ferry to take you into the town of Millport at cost of £3 each return. We did Largs which is very nice, Gourock was also nice but we found we had exhausted everything by Thurs so we moved on elsewhere. We had glorious weather whilst we were there which made a huge difference. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
72
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England (UK)
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in May 2013 from a Sun holiday.

To start with the approach to the site isnt brilliant unless you're in a car (we saw quite a few people arriving from the train station and struggling up the huge hill) but the site itself isnt too bad to walk around.

We werent expecting a lot to be honest but the caravan itself was spotless!! Very clean, tidy and well stocked with everything we needed.

We didnt eat in the restaurant/pub but it was usually busy and the menu did look quite good.

The shop was well stocked and to my surprise sold my favourite cider at a reasonable price.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the pool was warm and clean although could do with a bit of an update/repair (most of the lockers are broken)

Overall i would recommend this place for a nice short stay. I just hope the weather is better for you than it was for us! It rained EVERY day we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Having been here a few times over the years this visit recently was just as great as the others was swiftly checked in by the receptionist who also came down to the caravan to check that everything was ok for us we went to the entertainment venue every night for the bingo although we didn't stay for the later entertainment weather was good on our first full day there but rained on and off for the rest of the time

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on this park I was surprised as we found it rather pleasant , we stayed mon to Friday beginning April 29th the weather was bright and dry which helped as this isn't our main holiday we ate in most nights so can't comment on the on site restaurant , we did however drive through to Largs and had a lovely meal at tony macaroni and ice cream from nardinis it is around a 10 min drive from the park , we also went on the ferry trip to Rothesay for the day and went to Rothesay castle and zavarronis for lunch the ferry is very reasonably priced was 29 pound for 2 adults and 3 children return , we found the park clean and tidy the insure pool is small but as it wasn't busy we were fine didn't stay for the entertainment but it looked fine for a caravan park , the amusements aren't to big but enough to keep kids entertained for a shirt while overall we found this park rather good and would return in future we were located a caravan in the Clyde view area and it was clean with great views .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I resided at the Caravan Park for one night with my family who were there for one week. Although they had taken an upgrade on the caravan, it was very new, clean and met every need we had. The site itself was extremely clean, always seen staff cleaning or carrying out maintenance, a good sign!!
The restaurant, bar and entertainment hall again were all extremely clean with a nice atmosphere.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just back from a long weekend with the family at Wemyss Bay. The purpose of the trip was for us to recharge the batteries and to spend some quality time together. The park holiday was fine, and allowed us to do both.

The site itself is perched on a hillside overlooking the Clyde estuary, with superb views across the islands of Bute and Arran.

The main positives were that the staff were all massively helpful and friendly. The reception staff and entertainment team were particularly enthusiastic and went out of their way to make sure their guests had the best experiences.

The parc amenities are looking a little tired though- for example the pool area is full of broken lockers and generally feels like it needs some investment compared with other parcs. The pool also operates a bizarre "session" system which seemed a little unnecessary as it was fairly quiet most of the time.

The bar food is also very average for the prices charged- although it did arrive fairly quickly. The selection of draught beers was also disappointing (Carlin, Carling extra cold or Coors light) as there was really no alternatives around.

We thought we would try a holiday using public transport to leave the car at home. This worked well because the parc entrance is across the way from the railway station with regular direct connections to/ from Glasgow. The (quite stunning) railway station also acts as a bus stop and ferry terminal - which is just as well because there isn't a huge amount to do in Wemyss Bay itself (either on or off-site).

We were able to easily hop on a bus/ ferry to explore Rothesay/Bute and Largs for Cumbrae (which was well worth the visit...)

This was our first experience with Parkdean and I would try staying with them again, although I don't feel drawn back to Wemyss Bay specifically - a long weekend was great, but enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked to stay here just because we needed a cheap place for the west coast. Expectations where not high and rightly so. The caravan was cold and smelly, the play park is only suitable for bigger children, and the entertainment venue was a ropey. We 'ate' on the first night on site in the bar, the food was awful. Really, really bad food. If you do go avoid eating there. The park itself was clean and well presented with stunning views. Luckily we didn't spend much time there as we ventured over to the isle of Bute and down to beautiful Ayrshire.
I suppose you get what you pay for. This may be a lovely place for some people but for us, no. Much prefer to stay in cottage somewhere than eat that awful food in a bar full of football 'fans'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean - Wemyss Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Wemyss Bay Holiday Park

Address: Wemyss Bay PA18 6BA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Wemyss Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wemyss Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever tried island hopping?You can when you stay at Wemyss Bay! The leafy, hillside park is in the perfect spot for jumping aboard a ferry and spending the day on the Isles of Arran, Cumbrae or historic Bute. But don't stay away too long - there's plenty more to explore on the West Coast of Scotland, from castles and country estates to pretty seaside towns. And that's before we mention the fun attractions on park!* A glorious setting, high on wooded slopes * Breathtaking views across the Firth of Clyde * Ideal for exploring the West Coast of Scotland * Heated indoor pool and relaxing sauna * Great golf courses and fishing lakes nearby ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wemyss Bay Holiday Park Hotel Renfrewshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Wemyss Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.