We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to the Solway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queensberry Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Queensberry Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queensberry Arms Hotel
47 High Street, Annan DG12 6AD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Annan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Central to the Solway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very helpful receptionist. Rooms basic as is breakfast - but good. Request peppermint tea in rooms for those non-tea or coffee drinkers. Hotel needs brightening up a bit as there's lots of wood.Is ok for an overnight stop if visiting Dumfries or other Solway Firth attractions. Rooms are clean but rather small for family wanting to watch TV! Shower needs attention. Good menu in restaurant for those who choose to eat in the hotel. Good parking facilities for town main street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. Clean spacious room (although shower curtain was a wee bit dirty round the bottom), free wifi in public areas, breakfast was brilliant, freshly cooked and delicious. Decor is a little bit dated but that certainly didn't dampen our experience. Staff were attentive, welcoming and really couldn't do enough for you. We arrived quite late on a Friday night and the bar was still lively, this place is clearly popular with the locals, but is also very easy to find for outside travellers like us. Free car parking is available behind the hotel. Great value for money, would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on the way up to Scotland in September.The hotel is easy to find , just off the main routes. we consider the hotel to be good value for money, comfortable clean large room with all facilities, comfortable bed. Quiet location,very good breakfast. Drinks available till late. Friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only stayed one night here over the bank holiday but had a really reaxing break. Staff were wonderful and attentive. Meals were good quality and bar prices were good.
We took along our 2 well behaved dogs and found the hotel welcoming for pets. We really enjoyed our short stay and will return again. Big thanks to all staff and management.

Room Tip: We had a room on higher floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped in Annan and had a bar meal.The order was scampi and chips,chicken and chips and cheese burger and chips in baskets.We all enjoyed our meals and staff were very helpful and polite would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Coincidentally we were given the Honeymoon Suite on our 54th Wedding Anniversary! The fact that the bed and floor creaked didn't bother us too much, except when getting up for a pee!

Very friendly staff, and the food was good the night we ate in. Next night we ate in the Pizza place next door. That was good too.

Plumbing was noisy in the early morning the first day, but not so bad next day. Perhaps we got used to it!

Very reasonably priced B&B and evening meals. Private car park was lit at night

We would stay again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear would be away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portgordon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wanted to look around the area of Dumfries and Galloway as didn't know the area. Chose the hotel for its location. The hotel is quite old but the owners have made a good effort at brining it up to date. The room was clean and kept clean and tidy by a very good maid. Breakfast also very good and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Not sure about the evening meals but there a few alternatives to eat out in the town. Overall, for what we wanted to do the hotel was a good base and again, the staff are all very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queensberry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Arms Hotel

Address: 47 High Street, Annan DG12 6AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Annan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Annan's bustling main street, just 7 miles from the border, its impressive facade has stood proudly since its days as a coach house. The Queensberry Arms now has 28 en-suite rooms all with freeview TV, tea and coffee facilities and a telephone. It also has a Restaurant, Public Bar, Function Room and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Queensberry Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensberry Arms Hotel Annan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queensberry Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.