We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Del Amitri

Del Amitri
95a High Street, Annan, Scotland (Formerly del amitri)
01461 201999
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Annan
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We dined with two friends in this restaurant and the food is absolutely exquisite. The chef uses as much locally produced food as possible and the resulting dishes are quite sublime. Everything we chose to eat was beautifully prepared and extremely well presented on the plate. The different flavours all worked marvellously well together. This restaurant is an oasis of culinary excellence in a town lacking in anywhere decent to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a wee gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

was treated to a meal at this wee gem for my birthday and was really surprised at the quality of the food. it was excellent .....steak cooked to perfection and red cabbage to die for!!!! staff were pleasant and attentive cannot understand how lynne2908 was not treated like i was the restaurant also does a cinema package tuesday through thursday which means they book the tickets for you and all you need to do is turn up after your meal. would definatly go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Bad manners!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Tried to eat at this restaurant last Sunday, we were hungry on our way back from Edinburgh Festival. We checked the opening times and clearly stated served lunch until 2! We entered the restaurant at 1.45, first we were told it may be too late! (no 15 mins to go!) then after the rude woman went to check with chef she came back and said they were full!!! So rude, such bad manners, however they did us a favour as we had the joyous experience of Cafe Royal down stairs, so thank you del amitri for being so short on manners as we would have never used the Cafe Royal, who were friendly and welcoming and served excellent food at extremely good value!!! Shame on you and thank goodness I will never have to face your staff again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Owner at Del Amitri, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you feel you were not looked after and unable to have lunch with us. Unfortunately we did have a busy Sunday Lunch, Chef was unable to accomodate your party as our menu for the day had been used due to high number of customers. We do recommend that people book ahead to avoid disappiontment, our Sunday Lunch menu changes weekly and we have a restriction of how many customers we can accomodate. This ensures our very high standards of food, service and overall experience are consistant. I have no doubt that you had a very good meal at the Cafe Royal, they have the best fish supper in Dumfries and Galloway. We hope that if you are ever in the area you would visit our Restaurant, though I would advise to book ahead to avoid dissapiontment. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A meal to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I took my husband here for his birthday treat, and it didn't disappoint. The food was amazing all locally sourced, and you can really tell. The eye for the detail was second to none. The staff are attentive, and polite. It truly is one of the VERY best restaurants I believe in Scotland.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were bought a voucher by a local for this restaurant and not being local ourselves knew nothing of it. We could not believe the hidden gem we discovered. We are real foodies and this was one of the best restaurants we have been to. The food was modern, original and more importantly delicious. Excellent value, well below what you would expect to pay for this standard of food. Decor was modern and classy. Staff were excellent. 5 star *****

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Amitri also viewed

Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Del Amitri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Amitri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.