We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kildrummy Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Peterhead
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our 21st Anniversary. Hotel and gardens are absolutely breathtaking.

We stayed in superior suite and can quite honestly say it's the biggest bedroom and bed I have ever been in.

Breakfast in restaurant with lovely views onto the side garden was first class as was our dinner that evening.

Can't say enough nice things about this hotel, just can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    54
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
41
139
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We are becoming regular visitors here. And love everything about it. The whole place has a lovely feel about it, the staff are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We have chosen it for our wedding at the end of the year and i have no doubts that we will be looked after perfectly. Very happy customers. :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and we cannot fault the hotel, the staff, or the restaurant. The room was absolutely beautiful, the food very sumptuous and the outlook just stunning. Lovely to sit in the drawing room and watch the red squirrels at play. The proximity of the ruins of Kildrummy Castle add another stunning vista. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were reluctant to leave so will just have to return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Totally disappointed in the food and service. The food was quite tasteless and very overpriced for what you were served. The hotel is in a wonderful setting and in the past has been good quality food. However our visit on Tuesday evening did not match our expectations!

Room Tip: As we only ate in the restaurant I can't comment on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were merely visiting the hotel with a large group so I cannot comment on anything except the public rooms and the garden and the light lunch. It was a pity that our visit occurred only a few days after a new (French, I think) management took over and they were getting used to the place. So lunch was served slowly but was very pleasant indeed and all the staff did their utmost to accommodate the group.
The public rooms are gorgeous and maintain the decor and style of the 1920s extremely well. There are many fascinating photographs of days and folk gone by in this house while the historic features are generally well preserved and presented.
The lawns around the main house are delightful as are the birds and red squirrels attracted to the many feeders.
And from those lawns one can look down into the famous eponymous gardens in the wee glen below and across to the looming ruin of the castle after which the hotel is named.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for two nights with my girlfriend and we really enjoyed the place. Not because of its services or restaurant, more because of the spirit of the place. The building and surroundings are really impessive and beautiful. The garden, just astonishing. One can just feel the history there. It was very quiet over there, almost too quiet, no music, no noice, no sound. The restaurant and food wasn't really for us, but the service was quite ok nevertheless. I warmly recommend this for couples in love, but not for families with children. People running the place are really friendly and the atmosphere is real and not too formal. Unique experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a beautiful building in an absolutely stunning setting. Very peaceful and lots of wildlife to watch and enjoy. Bedroom very clean and lovely four poster bed resulting in a comfortable sleep. Everything stylish and appropriate and executed well. Have booked my next stays already. Situated 33 miles from aberdeen but well worth the drive through lovely countryside to get there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kildrummy Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.