We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and did the job. Think B&B not hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Forbes Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Forbes Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Forbes Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bridge Of Alford, Alford AB33 8QJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Alford B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and did the job. Think B&B not hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here after finding most other places in Abderdeen and Stonehaven fully booked. Having read the more negative reviews I was pleasantly surprised, although this is probably because I've stayed in loads of B&Bs and the Forbes Arms is perhaps better judged as this than a hotel.

We experienced friendly and helpful service. The evening meal was decent enough pub grub, if a little pricey, and breakfast was fine too. Not gourmet eating but the steak and ale pie was ok.

Room was clean and tidy, had a great view of the river and satellite TV. Slightly uneasy about the electric heaters and lack of smoke alarm in the room itself, but that's maybe just paranoia. Paid £110 for a family room, which seems just a little pricey to me.

On balance the positives outweighed the negatives and we'd stay here again if passing through.

In summary, if you're looking for a boutique hotel or a sanitised Premier Inn/Travelodge you'll be dissapointed, but if you're happy staying in pubs with rooms, or B&Bs then you'll be fine - we were.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    10
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rhynie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited for lunch mid week. First thing seem when i step through main entrance door is a cat, complete with food dish and hair covered cat bed. First impressions? Disgusting. If I hadn't arranged to meet a friend and we had both travelled considerable distance, I would have walked straight out. Lounge bar has been refurbished but is now crammed full of old furniture. Menu limited but sufficient for lunch. Food good and arrived in good time. After chatting for a bit we asked for coffees but were advised all kitchen staff had left? Apparently they were short staffed; we were only two people in lounge, there were 2 or three people in bar. The barmaid was not capable of putting a kettle on? From the point we were served our food no one came near so would it not be better service to ask your customers if they needed anything before dismissing kitchen staff?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Visited Forbes Arms recently on way back to Aboyne , hotel looks a little tired but warm welcome from staff. Waitresses were very attentive but they seemed to be let down by a bit of disorganisation in the kitchen. Looked like the owner tried to lay blame on waitress staff but my thoughts were "dont shoot the messenger" as the waitress staff were great , young but very friendly and kept us fully updated on the delays from the kitchen There appeared to be little leadership from the Management and the kitchen resulting in a little "tense atmosphere" which didnt lead to a pleasant dining experience. Hats of to the waitress staff who did their best to cover for the chaos in the kitchen. A women i met in the bar did mention there was a recent change of chef so perhaps this was a one off.... Willing to give it another try as the food was excellent and so were the front line staff Just a pity the manageress didnt have same attention to detail

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Forbes Arms Hotel, Trisha and the crew were fantastic, food very good Rooms nice and comfortable and warm, easy access to Aberdeen, Free Wi Fi in hotel. all in all a very good experience and will definately be going back when next up in Scotland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked every room in the hotel on the weekend our daughter got married and have nothing but praise for the level & quality of service and the facilities provided by Richard & Tritia.
We received a very warm and friendly welcome which continued throughout our stay.

The meals we had during our stay could not be faulted and were to a very high standard,

these thoughts were also shared by the whole familly

A very big thank you to Richard & Tritia for their comtribution into making this weekend a memorable one and for putting up with us all, look forward to seeing you next time.

Room Tip: My wife and I were in room 1 which is a familly room with a very spacious bathroom and has lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We booked the Forbes arms for a night as we had a family celebration in the village.
The room was spacious and warm with a newly renovated shower room.
Also it was spotlessly clean.
The mattress was a little hard for my taste but all in all I had a lovely sleep.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory and was of a good quality & freshly cooked to order!
Thanks to hosts Trish & Richard for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms are pretty basic considering what you can get for the same price in similar areas but as I was only in the area on business for one night it had everything I needed.

The staff are one of the main things I will remember this place for, every single person I dealt with was very helpful, pleasant and helped make my stay a pleasant one.

I ate dinner in the restaurant which was a lot better than I was expecting, I went for the pate and the steak pie. Great portion sizes and both very enjoyable indeed. The homemade chips were brown and not very appealing looking but actually very tasty indeed!

Breakfast was equally enjoyable , there was only one member of staff on dealing with check outs and cooking and serving breakfast and what a job she was doing.

I would recommend having a pint in the bar area, really enjoyed sitting near the fireplace enjoying the heat whilst supping a pint. They've also got a good pool table if you fancy a game,

Whilst its not the most glamorous or modern looking of places inside, i would still definitely choose to stay there again if im ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Forbes Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes Arms Hotel

Address: Bridge Of Alford, Alford AB33 8QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forbes Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Arms Hotel is a well-known landmark to Sportsmen, visitors and tourists in this charming part of rural Aberdeenshire. Situated just beyond the bridge over the river Don the Forbes Arms Hotel offers modern hotel facilities Including comfortable en suite letting bedrooms with free WI-FI,popular bars and a charming restaurant with a conservatory style extension overlooking the River. The hotel gardens run down to the river and are popular for alfresco dining.Bridge of Alford is a small country village nestling in the Vale of Alford on the banks of the River Don and is surrounded by the Hills of Bennarchie and Coreen. Despite this tranquil litythe City of Aberdeen is only a 40 minute drive away. The Forbes Arms Hotel enjoys a highly visible location in the village and is ideally situated to benefit from sportsmen and visitors to the area together with local patronage. Thearea is reputed to be where the world famous Aberdeen Angus breed of cattle originates and has many attractions to offer the visitor including a Heritage Centre, Transport Museum, Steam Railway, a Country Park in corporating an historic battlefield and a golf course, all within easy reach of the hotel on the banks of the River Don. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Forbes Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Arms Hotel Scotland/Alford, Aberdeenshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forbes Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.