We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to Laurel Villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Save
You added Laurel Villa to your Saves list
60 Church Street, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Second visit to Laurel Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

As Irish people, we feel that Gerardine and Eugene are doing a great service to Seamus Heaney's birthplace in co. Derry by promoting his work and that of the Irish poets in the way they have represented the individual bedrooms. The house dates from the late 1800 's and is beautifully maintained yet with modern comforts. We enjoyed a leisurely Ulster breakfast with the best of food and service. The fresh fruit salad was particularly good. Gerardine and Eugene gave us a great welcome and were endlessly helpful.

Sean and Geraldine, Dublin

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
65
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place and service.
Our first time visit- beautiful hotel, friendly staff, delicious food. Peaceful comfortable rooms. We didn't want to leave!
Would go back in a second.
Highly recommend this B&B to anyone
-Mark from Canada-

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well after a second visit to Laurel Villa, we were not disppointed.

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel so welcome and nothing is too much to ask of Geraradine and Eugene.

The location is excellent, so central for everything, the village has lots of shops, bars and resturants ( can highly recommend Church Street Resturant)
The rooms are lovely and homely with all tea and coffee you can drink.

Breakfast..... well, what can I say 'simply the best ever'!! from the warm wheaten bread and the lightest warm scones you will ever have, to the perfectly cooked full fry!!
The choice is yours..... but have it all, you won't be disappointed!!

10/10 - five stars - whatever! its the best!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for two nights from the 17th October. Eugene and Gerardine were wonderful hosts. They were a great help with our family history search. Even down to the crayon for a grave rubbing!! Breakfast was fabulous. It was an excellent place to stay for the start for our Ireland trip and certainly set the bar high! For any future trips back to the area Laurel Villa would be the only place we would stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time I've stayed here and I would come again. The house is full of interesting memorabilia like poetry. Clean rooms and comfortable... Though I would stay just for Gerrardine's breakfast which is home made and beautiful.

The owners are very helpful and friendly. I was there visiting family in the area amd introducing my new fiance they helped to paint a great picture of my roots to the new member of the family. I heard them giving lots of advise the tourist come back to seek out their Irish roots.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay here as we live locally but booked for afternoon tea to celebrate my Mothers birthday. Cannot fault the delicious homemade food and wonderful service. Very good value for money also. Would highly recommend the Laurel Villa afternoon tea as a lovely way to spend an afternoon with friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Second time I've stayed here and it's worth a visit. The house is full of interesting furniture and memorabilia. Very clean, comfortable rooms and the breakfast was lovely. I've stayed in lots of places in my travels with work but the way Gerrardine presents breakfast is second to none.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Address: 60 Church Street, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning 4 STAR boutique family guesthouse located in Heaney Country, specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & Tours. This Poetry Society landmark runs unique poetry weekends with poets such as Seamus Heaney making a guest appearance. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.