We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Friendliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Save
You added Laurel Villa to your Saves list
60 Church Street, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfort and Friendliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Quintessential Irish B & B in beautifully maintained house, leadlight windows and grand furnishings, comfortable beds, friendly helpful hosts, superb quality hot and cold breakfasts. The house contains many literary and other momentos giving it a special feel. Is a central base for exploring rural Londonderry.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
65
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is a labour of love and hard to tear yourself away from if you like beautiful poetry, paintings and atmosphere; more than just a guest house - everythings exquisite, including the hosts!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived late at Laurel Villa on a rainy night, after being told about the B&B by the waitress at the Simplicity Restaurant in town. Eugene greeted us at the door and showed us to our lovely room. The room was nicely decorated and very neat & clean. The next morning Geraldine served a wonderful traditional Irish breakfast. I really enjoyed the rhubarb! After breakfast, we got talking about the possibility of finding where my ancestors came from. Eugene found info on the internet for us and we set off from there on a great adventure. We were successful so, I am very grateful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having been to Laurel Villa in a business context I cannot praise Eugene and Gerardine highly enough for their unique approach to us the customer. It was highly professional, diplomatic and truly caring ,offering a welcome which is indicative of both their personalities - genuine, with an obvious desire to get things right - a willingness to go that extra mile to ensure everything is as the customer wishesand more. Gerardine's culinary skills are amazing - all hand made , with such attractive presentation ,which is just sheer perfection. It is so refreshing to find such people with so much to offer. Congratulations to both of you and may you continue to enjoy every success , which you so rightly deserve. Lorna.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

A very elegantly furnished establishment with a very warm and knowledgable welcome from Eugene and Gerardine. A beautifully presented breakfast. A must for poetry lovers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were delighted by the hospitality of Eugene and Gerardine at Laurel Villa. Our room was superb. Breakfast was amazing. Our hosts saw to the special touches that made our experience memorable. The location right in the center of Northern Ireland allowed for day trips that were only an hour away in any direction.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Superb hospitality from Eugene and Geraldine and great food, freshly prepared. As for the ambience; poetry, poetry everywhere! Not like anywhere you might have stayed before. Even if you live near Magherafelt, treat yourself to a night and savour this little gem which has outstanding class.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Address: 60 Church Street, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning 4 STAR boutique family guesthouse located in Heaney Country, specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & Tours. This Poetry Society landmark runs unique poetry weekends with poets such as Seamus Heaney making a guest appearance. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.