We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just grand.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church Street

Church Street
23 Church Street, Magherafelt, Northern Ireland
02879328083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Magherafelt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just grand.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good food and excellent service. we ate from the early bird menu and we're well satisfied. Was very busy by the time we left. Very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    26
    11
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Heaven in church street!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great little restaurant,so good to get great value ,vibrant staff and quality food a the right price. Had a meal with another couple we would recommend it.website photos do not do it proud.great atmosphere just off the street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Booked for 8 pm . Shown upstairs and left sitting with others on a small sofa for 40 mins without a menu because our table was not ready . Eventually shown to our table but still no menus for a further 10 mins . no drinks order taken until we eventually had to ask a waitress for one . Very unprofessional . Main courses were ridiculously small . Lemon sole dish consisted of 1 very small thin fish , 2 scallops and 2 boiled potatoes which were clearly reheated and smaller than the scallops . Had to wait another 15 mins on the dessert menu . Desserts were reasonable especially the lemon posset but the chocolate fudge cake was rubbery and bland .
We had ordered tea and coffee with our desserts but they didn't arrive until we had eaten them . I suppose we could have waited but we were still so hungry after such meagre mains .
1 coffee and 3 teas had been ordered but when the large pot of tea came along , it was weak . Closer inspection revealed that only 2 teabags were in pot .
Finally , the bill arrived but was overcharging us by £17 because they had charged our group for 2 fillet steak and not 2 beef chucks .
Very bad end to an exhausting stressful two and a half hours . Left the restaurant feeling as hungry as when I went in but £100 lighter .
The manager told us to come back another time and sample the taster menu but to make sure that we were hungry before we came . Think he must be deluding himself . Won't be taking up the offer .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Although Magherafelt is a country town, it's well worth the drive to eat in the fabulous Church Street. Fine dining standard at reasonable prices. I had the seafood chowder and it was excellent, very rich flavours. For my main I had Pork Belly which was topped with pulled pork - wonderful. Princess Sylvia had hake and beetroot salad followed by bream, she also loved hers.
I chose the crème brulee but they had just sold the last one! Princess Sylvia chose Sticky Toffee pudding. I don't really have a sweet tooth but I ended up eating half of it as it was scrummy. They only serve dessert wine by the bottle - perhaps they should serve by the glass as one is usually enough. Young Adam has promised that when we return he will have a crème brulee and a glass of dessert wine available! Can't wait until then - you gotta go. (BY THE WAY IT'S BYO - £3 corkage)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castledawson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Every meal here a positive experience so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pleasant staff and excellent, well-presented, reasonably priced food. I've been here three times and have not been able to get past the superb fish dishes as yet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Street also viewed

Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 

Been to Church Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.