We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent fine dining experience at Church Street restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church Street

Church Street
23 Church Street, Magherafelt, Northern Ireland
02879328083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Magherafelt
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
magherafelt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent fine dining experience at Church Street restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We ate dinner here last night and were not disappointed, From starter to cheese board the food was well presented and the quality excellent. The restaurant was busy and maintained a warm and friendly atmosphere.The waiters Adam and Pearce who looked after us were courteous attentive and very informative about dishes on the menu and the chef/owner Roland talked to us after service to hear feed back about our meal which was very positive . We will certainly be returning to Church Street restaurant with more friends for another evening of excellent food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    21
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely evening had at Church Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We call in at Church Street on the off chance we would get a table. Even though they were fully booked the staff managed to rearrange the seating to take us. That sums up the evening for me, all staff were courteous and very attentive without crowding around the dinners. The early menu covered many favourites, it was maybe too limited in choice however the main menu was available if you wanted to sample other dishes. My wife and I ordered from the early bird menu. The service was quick starters were there in under 12 mins. The main course came as a pleasant surprise, the beef was cooked to perfection, tender and full of flavour. We had 2 side courses of seasonal vegetables and chive champ. Again cooked to perfection. In all a fabulous experience in nice surroundings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not impressed- supplements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not impressed. Two course Sunday lunch. Why why is there a three pound supplement on many courses on this menu. Got stung three times. Surely if you are doing two courses at a price you must keep to that price. Unfair to public.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First visit, very impressed, will certainly return to sample more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have often driven past and noticed there were always plenty of customers. On a visit with some friends recently I wasn't disappointed - the food was excellent, staff were very pleasant and helpful and we all plan to return again. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My first visit here and 'WOW'
Absolute perfection, it's been a long time since I was so blown away by a 3 course lunch. Every time the staff came to clear the plates every one was clean!!
I live 60 miles away but would drive nearly every night for the food.
Great food, great value, (would be twice the price in Belfast) and simply well worth the drive.
Top marks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Street also viewed

Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 

Been to Church Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.