We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simplicity Restaurant

Simplicity Restaurant
18 Market Street, Magherafelt BT45 6ED, Northern Ireland
028 796 33980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 36 Restaurants in Magherafelt
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Castledawson, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a birthday meal for my daughter’s 17th birthday at Simplicity. There were 6 of us in the party and we arrived unannounced. As we discussed what we wanted, one of the chefs came to our table to share recommendations, a lovely touch. Food was tasty, hot and plentiful. Choices included cod, salmon, steak, and gougons as well as a variety of sides. Table was quickly cleared in preparation for dessert. The staff were patient and helpful, even surprising my daughter with a Happy Birthday song and some tasty fudge cake. We didn’t feel hurried but we did feel very full!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have never ate in Simplicity before, myself and a group of ladies went to the restaurant for a birthday party.Where do I start the menu was fantastic, and myself and friends could not believe how affordable it was! We will be back to eat in this restaurant again. Getting back to the food, our table couldn't have asked for much more, the food was absolutely beautiful, portion sizes were spot on,and not to forget the how impressive some of the food looked. The service was brilliant, the young man serving us was outstanding and very funny. I would have no hesitation to recommend this restaurant to anyone, and hope to pay a visit again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Restaurant has a good menu, very affordable and good appearance but service was awful. My boyfriend and I ate in simplicity last November along with our 3 month old baby daughter who was sleeping in a pram at the end of the table. We were sitting in one of the booths and could not put our pram anywhere else. The waitress who came to take our order came over to the table and stood saying nothing with a scowl on her face until we moved the pram, she then preceded to take our order very rudely. When she came over to serve our drinks she again stood saying nothing glaring at us as we had moved our daughters pram back to the end of the table. Unfortunately I will never be returning to this restaurant again, which is a shame as the food was good. I do believe if I had have been served by a different waitress I would not be writing a review like this.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Well Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although this restaurant doesn't look very impressive from the outside, it is very tastefully decorated inside. Tables are nicely spaced, so you are sitting on top each other. They have an early bird menu from 5 - 6.30pm and if you buy a main course, you get a free soup and desert which is very good value.

The food is well improved from we last visited. The soup was absolutely beautiful, and both our main courses were very tasty and much better portions than the previous time we visited. Our deserts were really nice too. I would have no hesitation recommending this restaurant, although a bit pricey if going after 6.30 pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Super lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A group of 8 enjoyed a 2 course lunch in Simplicity. Free starter with a main - only 2 choices, but those of us who went for the fish cakes or soup enjoyed them. The mains were well received and all enjoyed. Great lunch menu and very good price. Service could be a bit friendlier - felt we were a bit rushed, but the ladies were pleasant enough. Would go back and it was a lovely lunch - good portion size!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simplicity Restaurant also viewed

Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 

Been to Simplicity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simplicity Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.