We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The claridges of the BB world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnybank Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunnybank Guest House to your Saves list
Sunnybank Guest House
Sunnybank | 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Afternoon Tea for 2
Ranked #1 of 13 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
wolverhampton england
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“The claridges of the BB world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Sunnybank for 2 nights at the begining of April, great location, our view had a stunning view of the moors, even from the bathroom.
Every need was catered for, there was even dental floss and candles in the bathroom, Jason and Rachel were brilliant.
Holmfirth is only a 5 to 10 min walk away, and there are plenty of local resturants.
if you get the opportunity GO

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    26
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
247
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed over the Easter weekend to see a couple of bands at the Picturedrome.

Only about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Holmfirth, Sunnybank pretty much ticks all the boxes. The hillside views are picturesque, the rooms attractive and well equipped (tea & coffee, hairdryer, all that kind of thing) and the memory foam beds comfortable.

It was cold when we arrived, in the snow, but soon warmed through and you have control of your own thermostat.

My only slight negative was that the shower wasn't as hot or powerful as I'd've liked, but the hosts seem to have an eco-friendly outlook which is difficult to condemn.

Speaking of whom, Rachel and Jason are very pleasant and welcoming hosts who take your enjoyment seriously, and the breakfasts are amazing. It's the attention to detail with this kind of place that makes all the difference, and they certainly do that.

Room Tip: If you smoke, stay in the Valleyside room. It's still no smoking, but your door opens straight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Church View Room. Everything about Sunnybank was first class but the attention to detail was a bonus. Beautiful house, spotlessly clean, warm, friendly. Jason and Rachel do an excellent job here. Very comfortable bed, luxury bedding and a superb wet room with complimentary high quality toiletries, everything you could ever need. The breakfasts were superb and we also enjoyed some excellent meals in and around Holmfirth. The locals are extremely friendly and helpful, the scenery is beautiful, definitely worth a visit to this area, especially if you enjoy walking. Of course Yorkshire folk are the nicest people (I am slightly biased being a Yorkshire lass myself)! We could find absolutely nothing to complain about here, which is very refreshing! Don't change a thing Jason it's perfect and excellent value for money too. We forgot to put a comment in the visitor book as we were so busy chatting to Jason before we left, so hope this makes amends. Thank you both once again for a most enjoyable stay, we have already recommended you to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

First time visit to Holmfirth to see Wilko Johnson at the Picturedrome. Decided to make a weekend of it and stayed at the wonderful Sunnybank Guest House. Jason was a great host who made us very welcome. We enjoyed everything about Sunnybank from the very comfortable Church view bedroom to the perfect Yorkshire breakfast. The house itself is stunning and beautifully appointed. I would definitely recommend Sunnybank which lived up to its deserved reputation in every respect. Fair value and an excellent choice for a quiet weekend stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a charming B&B. To be honest we don't normally do B&B's as we do like to remain "anonymous" when travelling.

Rachel and Jason have an amazing home which is beautifully decorated throughout and absolutely spotlessly clean. My mother in law had a room in the main house and my husband and I had a room just to the back of the house in an annex.

My mother in laws room was the last one left in the house and her bedroom was not en-suite so her bathroom (solely hers) but just a short hop across directly from her room. Because of this they provided dressing gowns for her and she was very impressed with her room and bathroom. Our room was literally yards from the front door of the house (two annexed rooms adjoined to each other) which I actually like, because as a smoker I didn't have to traipse through the house to have a cigarette. (I would recommend these rooms if like me you are a smoker :o) ).

Breakfast was yummy - of course being on holiday we just had to have the full English and it was beautifully cooked.

We would certainly stay here again when visiting our friends in Holmfirth (which itself is a stunning little village).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a family funeral to attend in Manchester and didn't want to be in the city. The room we stayed in was 'Church View' which was large and airy with a lovely view of the snow covered hills. The breakfasts are awesome and 'eyes are bigger than belly' - locally resourced and well cooked. The kipper was the most natural colour I've seen in a long time. The couple running the B&B offer help without asking - e.g. would you like real milk in your room, let me carry your cases for you etc. The Art Nouveau wardrobe had dressing gowns inside for our use and the towels were so thick you could lose a kitten in them. We didn't get to use the sitting room but it was elegant and full of things to borrow or use. The torches near the front door were a welcome thing as it is dark in Holmfirth. Brilliant pub nearby (turn right outside B&B, turn left at small crossroads), called Farmers Arms who kindly rang the B&B when we left our postcards there. The only thing I found difficult were the wifi type light switches but I can see their point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Sunny bank is amazing, gorgeous location, and rooms. Rachel and Jason are lovely and helpful, and provide amazing service plus a unreal breakfast menu. Would recommend it to everyone you will fall in love with this place and feel truly spoilt by the fantastic views and overall feel of the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnybank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Guest House

Address: Sunnybank | 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth.Trip Advisor certificate of Excelence winners & listed in Sawday's Special Places to Stay, The Michelin Guide & the prestigious Good Hotel Guide 2013. Sunnybank offers a classic Yorkshire welcome in a relaxed & informal environment.Luxurious accommodation, glorious views and serving top quality local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sunnybank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Guest House Holmfirth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnybank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.