We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnybank Guest House

Save Saved
You added Sunnybank Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnybank Guest House
Sunnybank | 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Daventry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Sunnybank and hopefully not our last, we would certainly stay there again if in the area and would highly recommend it to anyone.

To start off with, the whole booking procedure (we booked through the website) was easy and a pleasure. Rachel and Jason were very communicable, offering us a choice of suites, the option of dinner and later the night before we arrived an update on our room and the chance to upgrade.

On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome from Jason who showed us around and explained how breakfast worked. We were shown a couple of rooms and given a choice of either.

Both rooms viewed were of an excellent standard and immaculately clean. The room we chose was finished to a very high quality and offered complimentary items rarely found in other b&b's. There was a cafeteria with choice of coffees, choice of teas, lovely biscuits, we were offered fresh milk instead of the normal carton milk if we wanted it. The bathroom not only offered local toiletries, but also, cotton wool, cotton buds, wipes etc, very well equipped. The room was warm and the heat controllable by ourselves. The bed linen was of a high quality and laundered to a high standard.

Breakfast was beautifully prepared and of a very high standard, not your bog standard breakfast. We are both vegetarians and every effort was made to cater for us, the best quality available bought on our request specifically for us - what more could you ask for.
When Sunnybank is full, breakfast is served in shifts which you chose the night before on a first come first serve basis which works well. Everybody is seated at one large table, which may not be to everyone's taste, but once the ice has been broken it works perfectly well.

Sunnybank itself is in a lovely location with beautiful views. If you intend walking in to town you should be aware that it is at the top of a fairly steep hill so it may be fun on the way down but you have to get back up again ! Just take it slowly, it's well worth the walk :-)

Sunnybank is very well presented and the decor inside is Art Deco inspired and all done to a very high standard.

You could not ask for more welcoming and friendly hosts in Jason and Rachel, nothing seems to be too much for them.

We had a lovely couple of nights in a fabulous location where we felt warm and comfortable and very well looked after - thank you :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms we were shown were of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    24
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
216
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Sunnybank and it lived up to all our expectations, indeed it exceeded them. It is great to stay somewhere where customer service is still seen as paramount. The room (we stayed in the Church View Room) was very well appointed and spotlessly clean (and kept so throughout our stay). The breakfasts are superb, concentrating on local produce. We had the afternoon tea which was a superb way to end a cold, dark Sunday afternoon in front of the fire. If you expect dainty finger sandwiches, forget it. These sandwiches were made from a variety of breads and were substantial and beautifully presented -the whole experience was great and we would highly recommend the afternoon tea....but you won't need lunch if you have started the day with the Sunnybank breakfast! All in all this was a fantastic stay, we couldn't find fault with anything and we will definitely return! Thanks to Jason and Rachel for making us so welcome.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Sunnybank for a long weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had a really good time and the weather was kind to us so we could go walking without it raining . Jason and Rachel made us very welcome and our room was very comfortable .We had the full Yorkshire breakfast each day which was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just stayed here for four nights for a break and chill, to visit the food festival and to go walking.

We had a fantastic time and would definitely stay with Jason and Rachel at Sunnybank again.

Our room was lovely and cosy, spotlessley clean with great views over the valley and the building itself is beatifully maintained and has a lovely feel to it.

Our breakfasts were all delicous and we tried everything on the menu, as there is a great selection to suit a variety of tastes.

Rachel and Jason are a lovely couple, very friendly and welcoming but not intrusive, so our stay was just what we wanted - relaxing, in a beautiful setting, with excellent food and great service.

Room Tip: Fantastic bed and breakfast, great food, service and a lovely setting - a little gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at Sunnybank (Church View Room) for one night to attend a gig at the picturedrome in Holmfirth. A fantastic find this B and B it's expertly run by the managers Rachel and Jason, they were very welcoming and friendly throughout the stay. The room and en-suite were very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Huge breakfast with a fantastic choice, and lovely homemade bread baked by Jason.

Can't recommend this B+B enough feel cheated that we didn't stay longer. Will be back to do some walking in the area, and attend the picturedrome again as it is a fantastic small venue only hold 690 (mainly standing). The b+b is approx 10 mins walk at the most to the venue and town only down side its all up hill coming back!!!

Room Tip: Church View was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent just one night (unfortunately) in this outstanding B&B. Such a beautiful house, glorious gardens and views. We stayed in the annex which was finished to a very high standard and had all the little extras which make it so comfortable. Wonderfully comfortable bed and then a gorgeous breakfast in a beautiful dining room, which had a lovely fire going to warm up a rather wet morning. Lovely hosts, amazing friendly area, don't even think of looking elsewhere for a b&b, just book - you won't want to leave!

Room Tip: Annex was wonderful. A very peaceful tranquil area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in one of the annexe rooms at the rear of the main accommodation. there are (Ithink) 3 rooms/suites in the main house plus at least 2 in the annexe where we stayed which is new. It's only 10 feet from there to the main house for breakfast or you could opt to have breakfast in the room. They even provided an umbrella in the room in case of wet weather. Room wasv ery nicely done out with everything you'd expect plus tv/dvd player, hair dryer, Iron and ironing board additional. Gorgeous big shower and luxurious feel to the whole room.
Yorkshire full breakfast is so delicious and plentiful = no more meals the whole day. Plus it is sourced locally which is good. Jason and Rachel were friendly and helpful and clearly work hard at giving guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Only disadvantage is the steep hill up from town centre to get back to sunnybank.... but it's so worth it.

It has lovely gardens with benches etc to sit out on - sadly it poured all the time we were there. Views still great and you will feel cossetted and spoilt staying there.

Room Tip: rooms in the annexe are ground floor so slightly easier if disabled although you have to go up and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunnybank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Guest House

Address: Sunnybank | 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth.Trip Advisor certificate of Excelence winners & listed in Sawday's Special Places to Stay, The Michelin Guide & the prestigious Good Hotel Guide 2013. Sunnybank offers a classic Yorkshire welcome in a relaxed & informal environment.Luxurious accommodation, glorious views and serving top quality local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Sunnybank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Guest House Holmfirth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnybank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.