We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calf Hill Bed and Breakfast Holmfirth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmfirth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calf Hill Bed and Breakfast Holmfirth
Save
You added Calf Hill Bed and Breakfast Holmfirth to your Saves list
8 Lower Hagg, Holmfirth HD9 3UD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We arrived early at the Calf Hill Bed & Breakfast and not only were we met with a warm welcome but also fresh coffee and warm home made scones. The host was extremely friendly and made us feel most welcome. The English Breakfast in the morning was absolutely fantastic, made using local produce e.g. sausages and bacon and the bread had been freshly baked by the host that morning. Delicious! Another nice touch was the tea and coffee tray served to us on the tiered terrace in the morning with a view over the extended garden.

Although I am not a huge fan of dogs, the B&B's resident Cockapoo called Gypsy kept us entertained whilst we enjoyed our morning brews.

The bedroom was lovely, a gorgeous double ensuite and we had access to the Calf Hill Kitchen for beverage facilities should we require them.

We would definitely be happy to stay again and Calf Hill is definitely somewhere that we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for one night in the cottage suite, the room is beautifully decorated and the bed perfect. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and Sue and Tom are great hosts. The cottage is set in a lovely hamlet with great walks straight from the front door. Will definitely go back, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a few days touring Yorkshire. Whilst heading into Holmfirth down a quiet leafy lane less than five minutes from the centre of the town we decided to stop the night at a recently opened Bed/Breakfast we'd been told about by friends who had previously stayed there and had been really impressed with it.
Although we hadn't pre-booked the lady who ran the B/B greeted us warmly and welcomed us into the house, sat us down and offered us refreshments before showing us up to our room.
Well, I say house !! ...this isn't "any house," this is a beautifully restored stone country cottage set in lovely Yorkshire surroundings. One of the first things to impress me as you approach the front door through the front garden was the quirky metal bell pull that announces your arrival, the brass bell hangs in hall
We were also really impressed with the interior, "Rustic" is the only way to describe it with it's wood burning fire in the hall and the stair case leading up to the gallery landing and the sumptuously comfortable bedrooms. There are oak beams everywhere, this really is a place to relax in.
The next morning, we were greeted by "the lady of the house," and offered breakfast either in the dinning room with it's exposed thick wooden floors and comfortable surroundings, or the small but sunny garden room.
The breakfast was really nice with a choice of cereals jams toast made from home made bread and lots, lots more to a really good English(sorry, Yorkshire) breakfast, and so after a quick "sneaky" look around the well stocked garden, we were on our way, sadly, because we really enjoyed our brief stay at Calf Hill .
It's also worth a mention, there are loads of eating places and pubs in Holmfirth itself, just five minutes away by car where you can get a really nice meal in the evening.
Will we be back?....you bet we will,!!..but don't tell anybody, it'll be our little secret

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for one night on the 29th June 2013 as we were going to the Holmfirth Picturedrome the following night.
We were a bit unsure at first as we are not used to staying in B&Bs, normally we like the privacy of hotels but we found ourselves pleasantly very surprised.
The house is beautiful, homely and very welcoming and outstandingly clean! The breakfast was to die for! So much so we couldn’t eat anything else for the rest of the day.
Sue and Tom are lovely and made us feel very at home, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked for one night to visit the Picturedrome and decided to stay an additional day. The house and the bedrooms are lovely, like a country cottage from a movie. We woke to birdsong and sheep, it was so peaceful.
We had the garden suite, which is huge,with a king size bed and walk-in dressing room and shower ; very romantic
Calf hill cottage is about 15 minute walk from Holmfirth centre and easy to get back after a few real ales at the Nook! We spent a lazy day wandering round the country side burning off the breakfast.
Sue and her husband were very friendly and helpful.
10 out of 10.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calf Hill Bed and Breakfast Holmfirth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calf Hill Bed and Breakfast Holmfirth

Address: 8 Lower Hagg, Holmfirth HD9 3UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300 year old cottage set in a hamlet close to Holmfirth. Quintessentially English, the bed and breakfast offers luxury accommodation and a very warm welcome. On the West Yorkshire cycle tacks and near the Pennine way making it a great base for cycling and walking, but close to restaurants and the music venues in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calf Hill Bed And Breakfast Holmfirth England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calf Hill Bed and Breakfast Holmfirth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.