We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best burger since Five Guys Burger and Fries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gonzo

Gonzo
10-12 Dunford Rd, Holmfirth HD92DP, England
+44 7540498083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Barbecue, Bar, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A bar where great music of all genres comes together with craft beer from all over the world, classic cocktails, great wine and service, to create an atmosphere unlike any other."Buy the ticket. Take the ride"Hunter S Thompson
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best burger since Five Guys Burger and Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I had the Gonzo burger which is based around pulled pork and was AMAZING!!! I paid £8.25 which was well worth the money as I could hardly fit the thing in my mouth. The pork was so succulent and literally fell apart in my mouth, extremely well sourced ingredients. Top top burger

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    6
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome food, drink & music!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Went out with the better half for something cheap to eat and drink after being advised and recommended by a family member. Awesome food for the price and brilliant ale with amazing music to accompany it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, New York, United States
1 review
“Gonzos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved the atmosphere of this place.... so much more than the 'traditional' pub!! Great variety of beers and cocktails. Food menu looked exciting and great value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for a bite to eat one lunch time and were very impressed! We both had the pulled pork burgers which were amazing! A couple of pints of speciality ales and we were very happy patrons! Will definitely return to Gonzo again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cracking New Bar in Holmfirth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Granted I have lived in Holmfirth all my life, and have grown up with all the traditional pubs in the town. I can also remember at least 4 variations of this building before it became Gonzo. What I do know is that this is the best there has been. Beers, lagers, ciders and spirits from all over the world - America, Europe, Deanhouse and Holmfirth.

If you looking for a watered down pint of lager then go somewhere else! You won't like this place, and quite frankly it's not for you! Gonzo are trying to bring a different slant of a bar to Holmfirth, and for that I salute you. The great knowledge from the owner on all the drinks he serves is fantastic and refreshing. You're not just going to get a random pint whizzed over the bar at you. Knowledge is king!

I've been fortunate enough to have food in there a few times too, and it doesn't disappoint. Nothing fancy and not a massive menu. Just simple tasty grub....Ooooo so tasty.

There is a function room downstairs which makes a great party venue.

Tip: Ask for an Old Fashioned - bloody tremendous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonzo also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Gonzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gonzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.