We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cumin Black - CLOSED

Cumin Black
Sheffield road | New mill, Holmfirth hd9 7jt, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
huddersfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked a table for 7.00pm on a Friday evening and, to be honest, were disappointed that there were only another two tables taken at that time as we like busy restaurants (better ambience). By 7.45pm though most of the other tables were full so the atmosphere was better. The food was beautiful, fish starter and a chicken chaat, followed by a chicken dopiaza and chicken balti with rice etc. We couldn't fault any of it - plates were nice and warm, we were asked if we wanted the mains bringing straight away or if we wanted a breather (which we like), we'd both chosed medium strength curries and they were (left a nice tingle on the lips but you could taste all the ingredients and the flavour). The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a takeaway from there again the following week and that was delicious too.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The worst service I have ever had!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Table booked for 7:30pm and by 9pm we had still not had our starters. They arrived about 5 mins later and to be honest they tasted pretty good. We then waited until after 10pm and still no main courses. Two of my friends had to be elsewhere at 10:30pm so we called the waiter over for the 4th time... He said that we could take the ordered food away as a takeaway and then presented us with the full bill!!! After some discussion we paid half but the evening was ruined!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Duke!! Is a curry house!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a former duke regular I decided to take the plunge and go for a indian.....Spot on to be fair, nicely fitted out, friendly staff, decent food (I have the fish starter and lamb saag)....

Give it a chance, it will improve once the pans get some muck in!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good - certainly better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited cumin black last night - we've heard mixed reviews about it - good and bad but we certainly agree with the good ones! Great choice on the menu, very well presented, great tasting and portion size! Definitely going back soon! Hopefully it will be as good second time round.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A game changer! The best in HD9.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The best thing about this restaurant is the fact that its presence has forced its competitors to up their game. I am not a huge Indian food fan, but the prawn saag was quite frankly the best in HD9.
After eating here, within 48 hours I was at another Indian for a team dinner, this Indian had upped its game, must be a good thing, considering the last thing we needed in HD9 was another Indian/Bangladeshian. Well done Cumin Black. Love the name too! Innuendo is always amusing in a name.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumin Black also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumin Black, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.