We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and even better food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmer's Arms

The Farmer's Arms
Liphill Bank Road, | Burnlee, Holmfirth, England
+44 1484 683713
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 60 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Excellent little pub with gourmet food and good real ales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and even better food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We visited as a family with two kids and felt nothing but welcome.we all ate and the food was fab..the best pub food we have ever had! The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly,we will certainly be returning again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great beer & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The farmers is a local to me and go dawn quite often, I love the local beers but would love for just once to also get a mixed grill. Onstead of the fancy food with a bigget portion, if food is good it doesnt need to be fancy!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oh My GOODNESS! EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

nipped in for an evening meal. Fantastic village pub atmosphere with lots of local people there putting the world to rights and gossipping but then the meals were really 5 star. I had scallops starter and then the most succulent tasty piece of gammon ever. modern serving style ie food set out very stylishly on plate. Decent portion sizes - ie so stuffed no pudding fitted in. Really great choice of food on menu and special deal for fish specialities on friday.
A lovely night out with excellent food and lovely staff.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Farmer's Arms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I asked for a sirloin steak medium rare and got exactly what I asked for. The food being turned out at this establishment is just outstanding and beacuse this is a village pub in a quiet back street (no offence intended) seems out of 'kilter' with the food. Whoever the chef is I'd hang on to him if I were you!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A classic English pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

One of the very best pubs in the Holme Valley, excellent beer and excellent food. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmer's Arms also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Farmer's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmer's Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.