We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great range of food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Huntsman Inn

The Huntsman Inn
Greenfield Road, Holmfirth, England
01484 850205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 62 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great range of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

There was a great range of food available to suit all our party including the vegans amongst us. The price of the hot sandwiches was superb and they come with two side orders of a choice of four.... go for the onion and pepper dippers!! We loved the food... we loved the open fire and the ambience and the price of some meals is great.. though there are some very expensive meals.... however we did have a really strange waiter who seemed to be trying to make jokes but who was just rather awkward with our group and another group nearby.
Great quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    16
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Got married here- fab setting and lovely guest rooms.
Live locally so eat here now and again- highly recommend the curry nights on Wednesdays. The chef Sam is talented.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale, lancs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our favourite country pub and rightly so!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Not the first time we've visited The Huntsman over the past year or so and it came up trumps again. Just a brief call in for a light lunch and a drink after a walk round Dove Stones reservoir, we picked a soup of the day and a breakfast stack muffin from the snack menu, both of which were very good and were served briskly and with a smile. The Huntsman has an extensive and varied menu, which you can enjoy with a degree of formality in the smart restaurant or more casually in their very cosy bar area. Food is backed up by a fine range of JW Lees cask ales and all the usual lagers and bottles, as well as a decent choice of wines. Staff were, as usual, friendly and enthusiastic, and we enjoyed another very pleasant visit. Highly recommended if you're in the area or fancy a ride out over the tops.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great wedding reception venue?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We booked the Huntman for our wedding reception in April this year and we found there to be mixed reviews. The rooms are lovely, we stayed in the bridal suit that overlooks the vast fields and Emley tower which was nice. The food was very good and everyone didn't go hungry but there was a lot of food left over that we asked to take home but the staff said that it had all gone, which was an obvious lie. The venue was quite big and the use of the garden to the side was very useful as the kids got to play outside. The staff are quite accommodating to what you want on your day but we found Paul to be quite intimidating on a few occasions. Also a waiter at the end of our night was extremely rude telling my husband "pack your stuff away now or I will move it myself"!! Absolutely shocked by this comment, my husband collared him and said it would have to stay there until first thing in the morning, it was his wedding night after all! Overall, the guests enjoyed themselves and the beer was reasonably priced and we have eaten there since with no complaints.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rude,unwelcoming arrival...won't be returning.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We used to visit for the breakfasts but after several incidents with the same member of staff we haven't been back. The woman was very unwelcoming and it felt like we were putting her out just asking for toast! No smile or thanks just an awkward unwelcoming atmosphere. Never again!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Huntsman Inn also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Huntsman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.