We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fish & Chips, Takeaway Staff Miserable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Compo's Take Away and Family Restaurant

Compo's Take Away and Family Restaurant
9 Burnlee Road | (off Greenfield Road) HD9 2 LA, Holmfirth, England
01484686040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 62 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Shaw, Oldham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish & Chips, Takeaway Staff Miserable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Once again had excellent fish and chips today, Once again served by miserable, unhelpful serving staff in the takeaway. We have visited on many occasions being served by a variety of miserable staff, on one occasion we was served by a very helpful and smart boy and girl ( I think they normally work in the restaurant ), this is so rare at Compo's that we actually praised these two young people whilst they served us. I know it's a chippy but Don't have a jacket potato, they are tiny. TAKEAWAY STAFF, IF YOU DON'T LIKE WORKING THERE, GET ANOTHER JOB! you are enough to put customers off! Oh, and try cleaning up the seating area outside, Disgusting!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    18
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quality Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

They claim to serve the best fish & chips in the area and I would totally agree. Fish was freshly fried in a light & crispy batter. Chips were beautiful as were the peas, all washed down with a spot on cup of tea. Well done Compo's

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Nice Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We have had Take aways from Compos Cafe before and have always enjoyed eating them in the car as part of our walks around local reservoirs.
I ordered two childrens meals, both hot and fresh with a drink and colouring pack.
Our two meals of fish and chips with peas and one with curry sauce was lovely and fresh. The young girl got the order correct and let me carry each meal out to my hungry family. My wife did think the batter was slightly overcooked, dark brown and crispy but overall an enjoyable meal eaten at the top of Holme Moss.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice friendly staff; very good value; clean, bright restaurant and the quality of the fish and chips is of a consistently high standard

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Second visit - worse not better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I reviewed Compos last November and disputed a claim that they were making at the time that they "offer their visitors the best fish and chips in Yorkshire". Not "aim to" or "probably" or "possibly". Mathew responded by saying it was a matter of opinion.
Since then I have given three chippies in Yorkshire and N Lincs an excellent rating on TripAdvisor and visited countless others who are not on here or who just have a takeaway.As I had read positive reviews of Compos since and i was in the area I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt.
The Jumbo cod was a decent size as one would expect for the price (£6.05 for a takeaway including the chips) and the chips were Ok. The batter was dark (overcooked in my opinion - please check the photo) and unpleasant and left me with a queasy feeling for the rest of the day. And compared to other chippies in Yorkshire the fish was pretty bland - in my opinion, of course.

I won't be back for a third time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compo's Take Away and Family Restaurant also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Compo's Take Away and Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compo's Take Away and Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.