We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ales, Great Pies!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The White Horse Inn to your Saves list
The White Horse Inn
Scholes Road | Jackson Bridge, Holmfirth, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Ales, Great Pies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Only stayed one night here, after a few days in the High Peak area. David and Sarah made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and tidy, though not over-generous on the tea/coffee/shower freebies. Had Sarah's home-made pies for supper accompanied by a well-kept ale - delicious!
Could only manage a light breakfast, but the Full English most others were having looked very tempting :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

just called in the white horse inn for a quick drink, after visiting Holmfirth and totties nurseries for some plants.
It has been redecorated since the days when Ron Backhouse used to run it, in the days when Last of the summer wine was filmed there. Still a nice traditional pub, friendly staff.
We didn't eat there, as we usually take sandwiches on our days out, but the food looked good that other people had ordered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Recently ate at the pub. Food was actually ok but the landlord was awfull. Very surly and unwelcoming. We asked to set up a tab but he refused as he said he didn't like them. So we laid for our meals and drinks. We were asked if we wanted desert so got some ice cream. On paying were told we had to spend 5 pound on card. Hen we told him we had no cash he was very angry. So we offered to pay 5 pounds for the 2 scoops of budget ice cream. He snatched the card and thirst the receipt in our hand without saying a word. Very rude and a shame as the venue looked nice. Maybe that's why it was dead in there. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

just got back from a lovely week away at the pub in holmfirthe david and srah made use very welcome and relaxed the food was all frashly cooked and not junk food all home made as reqeurd the rooms very clean me and the wife will be going back to stay soon than you david and sarah see you soon Gordon susan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the White Horse for just one night at the end of a tour of the Peak District. It was very comfortable, and very friendly - we enjoyed chatting to the local people in the bar at night!
Sadly because it was a Sunday night we couldn't sample the food there, and we had to set off home the next morning. But we did enjoy our stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had a lovely two nights with Dave and Sarah, really friendly couple with a lovely little B&B in a very friendly pub with food that looked great and if breakfast is anything to go by it will be - delicious. (what with the wedding, I didn't eat other meals at the White Horse)....

Dave was really easy-going and very helpful - booking taxis (apparently only O2 mobiles get reception) & giving directions & taking the mick out of me made me feel welcome. The locals had a good laugh too as I dashed about!

The bed was comfy, the room clean and well equipped & breakfast I've covered (HUGE). My only gripe was a towel issue, but I told Dave about that and I'm pretty sure it was an oversight.

Would definitely come here again - thanks for a lovely, easy, warm stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just returned after a 3 night stay. From start to finish we were made to feel very welcome by Sarah and David and they are very friendly and helpful. The twin room was very spacious, clean and tidy. The breakfast was very filling and there was plenty to choose from which set us up for the day. It is a five minute drive into Holmfirth itself. We also had evening meal on one of the nights again very good portions and cooked to perfection and service excellent. In all we could not faut our stay. It was excellent quality and service and would definatly recomend anyone to stay. We hope to be back soon to do some of the lovely walks around the Holmfirth area. THANK YOU Sarah and David for a very enjoyable stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: Scholes Road | Jackson Bridge, Holmfirth, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The white horse pub once famous for the last of the summer wine.now fully refurbished to a high standard serving home cooked food Monday to Sunday.Why not stay here for a relaxing break where you will always find a warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn Holmfirth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.