We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxhouse

Foxhouse
Penistone Road | Carlecotes, Holmfirth HD9 2TR, England
+44 1226 762536
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 62 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Traditional British country pub just outside of Holmfirth serving a modern British menu from local suppliers.Carvery and Bar Menus served in a traditional country setting.A la'carte private dining available in the Restaurant.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Came for a saturday night meal for my father in laws birthday and had a lovely evening. The sirloin steak I ordered was cooked perfectly as was the rest of the meal. Pudding was gorgeous too. Will definatley be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    44
    15
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had our Silver Wedding Anniversary there last night. There were 18 of us and everyone said how much they enjoyed the food. It was well presented and cooked to perfection. The price was good overall too. Can't say that there was anything to fault. Thanks for a great night!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fox House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I live 20+ miles from the Fox House and I still take the trip to dine here. The food is out of this world wether your going for the early bird, the bar menu or eating in the restaurant. The service is excellent, all the staff are friendly, informative and add to the venue. The chef needs a pay rise in my opinion as I have never had a bad meal here. The early bird menu offers smaller portions but then you can indulge in more courses. The bar menu and restaurant portions are large and fantastic value for money. I have never had the carvery available on a Sunday but family members have and enjoyed it thoroughly. It beats the likes of Toby carvery hands down. The pub can get very busy but there is plenty of parking and lots of seating inside.

Go to the fox house even if its out of your way as you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had the meat & potato pie, no fat on the meat very tender, nice pastry too, vegetables cooked just right for my liking. Maybe a little too large a portion but tasty. Staff very good and the atmosphere very pleasant, will come back on a regular basis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, a must if your in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First visit, nice little pub with decent atmosphere, not overly busy, the bar staff very friendly, kid friendly also, we all had the carvery, the portions were massive, we had plenty to eat, real ales also available, highly recommended will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxhouse also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Foxhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.