We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food with a first class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxhouse

Foxhouse
Penistone Road | Carlecotes, Holmfirth HD9 2TR, England
+44 1226 762536
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 60 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Traditional British country pub just outside of Holmfirth serving a modern British menu from local suppliers.Carvery and Bar Menus served in a traditional country setting.A la'carte private dining available in the Restaurant.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a first class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to eat in the restaurant at the Fox House this evening. We were greeted warmly. The food we had was excellent and very well presented. The portions were generous. The staff were friendly and helpful and catered for all our needs, even fussy me when I wanted chocolate custard with my chocolate pudding. Well done to you all for a job well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    55
    21
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Meat-eaters paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a drive out on a beautfiul Sunday afternoon we called in for dinner. It was busy but we got a table straightaway.The meal came quickly, within ten minutes of ordering. My partner went for the carvery and he really enjoyed it, very generous portions and nicely cooked veg. However, the options for non-meat eaters are pretty limited and unimaginative. I went for the haddock and chips which came in a huge, overfacing portion. The chips were overdone and the batter on the fish was way too greasy. If you enjoy a good old traditional carvery then this place will tick all the boxes, non-meat eaters will probably be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great visit again!!....food worth travelling for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My friend and I have eaten here several times, and have never been disappointed. We've just returned from a very enjoyable Sunday lunch. She had cottage pie and I had fish pie. Both were well presented, very tasty and portion size and prices were very reasonable. This is a pub who have built a very loyal clientele base on producing proper homemade quality food at reasonable prices in nice surroundings. We struggled to find a space in the carpark, and its a large carpark! We ll keep returning if standards remain the same! My only improvement is that although I think the staff are pleasant enough, they are not overly friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Best pub meal I have had out in ages; service is good and staff pleasant. A busy pub that has a great menu and the food was well presented and tasted like it was home cooked - well done

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hi we had christmas day lunch at the fox house it was fantastic the food exellent staff brill and the other custemers verry friendly it was so good we booked for this christmas today

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxhouse also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Foxhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.