We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe everything you read in the poor reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poppa Piccolinos

Poppa Piccolinos
Victoria Street, Holmfirth, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 62 Restaurants in Holmfirth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't believe everything you read in the poor reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited Piccolinos on a busy Saturday evening after a telephone booking made the same day. We arrived 30 mins early due to a speedier trip over Woodhead than we thought. We were offered the choice of a drink by the bar or an immediate table - good customer service. We selected to be seated and were then asked later if we were happy with the choice of table and could move if we wished. We were fine - no reason to move. The Montepulciano wine was lovely and, although the same brand, was cheaper than the 2 restaurants who serve this in the Wakefield area - another positive. Starters from the specials menu were good. Our mains were fillet steak - a large portion and cooked as requested - medium rare, fish on a bed of vegetable strips which my husband thought was very good. The chunky chips were fabulous. We didn't have a dessert as we were already full but had 2 coffees which, again, were well prepared, frothy and tasty - not overcooked milk with a hint of coffee which you can get in some restaurants. The service was outstanding - I am really not sure why one reviewer said "staff are unaware of their surroundings and don't have and lack rapport skills". We found this to be NOT the case. The staff were attentive, friendly and, basically, couldn't have tried any harder. The owner spent time discussing our meal and choice of wine and I was asked to try another glass from the same label but, this time, a rose, to see if I preferred the rose to the red. How many restaurants would do that?

This is a friendly, local restaurant offering a good choice of food. It is not a gourmet restaurant with an extensive wine list. If customers want that type of food, then I suggest they look for it in a different restaurant and pay the higher prices. We enjoyed our meal and will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    44
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

It was a mistake to visit this restaurant prior to a concert at the Picturedrome. Once upon a time it was good; sadly no longer.
The service was fine, the pizza was dreadful and I wouldn't cook a chicken in the £18 Valpolicella on their wine list.
At £30 per head they're having a laugh!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poor service, overpriced average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

On every occasion we have been to the this place, now 3 times, it's seemingly got worse. Staff are unaware of their surroundings and don't have and lack rapport skills. Food is very run of the mill. Despite asking for a steak medium rare with red wine sauce I received well done with gravy that was more onion flavoured.? Limited menu and a bit unsure how it really qualifies as an "Italian". Surroundings are basic and need updating.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Early bird special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a lovely meal here prior to going to a concert at the picturedrome. The early bird is great value - a starter, main course and a glass of wine/1/2 pint beer or soft drink for £10.95. Service was speedy and attentive and the food was great. Will certainly be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly environment, great food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have visited this restaurant a couple of times before and have always enjoyed the experience.
On this occasion we were having an early supper prior to attending a concert at the Picturedrome as the restaurant is very handy for this venue.
The service was very friendly, welcoming and helpful and when we phoned ahead to say that we were stuck on the motorway and would be late - the staff could not have been more accommodating, saying it was no problem at all to hold the table and not to worry.
When we arrived we had really delicious olives and warmed bread with balsamic dip. The food we all had was tasty, well presented, of a good portion size and good value for money. The wine was also great value.
The chef came over to check everything was to our satisfaction and we felt that the whole experience was really enjoyable. We will definitely be back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppa Piccolinos also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Poppa Piccolinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppa Piccolinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.