We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carniceria

Carniceria
Victoria Square, Holmfirth, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 62 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having visited the restaurant a couple of years ago we were very much looking forward to eating here again. However after waiting some considerable time for our food to arrive we were very disappointed. One of our party ordered the Pork Belly which was a rather small main course. Another ordered the Toad in the hole which was burnt to the point that it was completely black and inedible and had to be returned, we were offered something else free of charge but when the member of our party then ordered again she was shortly informed that the Sole was unavailable and had to order yet again. The sandwiches were okay but the chips were rather limp. The service was also okay but due to the poor standard of the food we will be looking for somewhere else to eat next time we visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited this restaurant for the first time with a group of 5 other people. I ordered a bottle of beer at the bar, which was not particularly cold and this was the first disappointment. The table that had been reserved for us was shoe-horned by the stair case and felt fairly claustrophobic. We opted for the banquet at £12.50 per person. An assortment of tapas style dishes appeared without much introduction. These included a Greek salad, meatballs, chicken wings, asparagus and mushrooms. The portions were at times very small (one mushroom between two). Some shell on king prawns were delivered which had NO flesh whatsoever. Food was okay, service ditto but I've had more enjoyable tapas elsewhere. The company made the evening enjoyable, sadly not the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to dine and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have attended a couple of group bookings for food at carniceria, always a nice meal and reasonably priced, its great for group bookings as they have a room upstairs that they use, and your usually up there on your own so as not to disturb other diners.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic pre show tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been to Carniceria a few times now, it is really my resaurant of choice in Holmfirth for a few reasons. The atmosphere is relaxed, I have turned up dressed for a night out, and dressed for a night in before and each time felt comfortable and welcome, there are no pretentions here. The staff are always lively, friendly and efficient, you couldn't ask for better service. The food is fantastic and great value. I always go for Tapas because I can never choose and there is such a wide variety of delicious dishes to choose from. The range of drinks on offer is fantastic too. I have never taken my daughter but have often been in when children and grandparents alike were welcomed. For the all round experience 6 starts!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“2nd best tapas place in Holmfirth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I came here with a few friends, it was great service. The wine is very reasonable and the food choices were fantastic, very busy place on a friday night They have good deals during the week and the menu is great as well.
You can even just come for a drink on an evening as there is a nice bar section or you can have a drink and something to eat outside on a nice day.
The staff were really efficient as well.
Would recommend going to everyone i know.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carniceria also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Carniceria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carniceria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.