We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winkworth Arboretum

Winkworth Arboretum
Hascombe Road, Godalming GU8 4AD, England
01483 208477
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Godalming
Type: Gardens
Activities: Viewing foliage
Attraction Details
Liphook, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A lovely spot for walking. Great photography - don't forget the camera. Lovely in the Autumn. Great cafe as well!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    54
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great outdoor experience for children & Grown ups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Regularly take several 5 year olds and younger siblings & they happily run around leaping out of trees, jumping on tree stumps, exploring, playing hide & seek etc. No play equipment etc but they don't need it or notice! Range of simple school holiday activities offered, but you often have to enquire about them. Adults get to enjoy stunning views, beautiful trees and glorious autumn colours or beautiful carpets of bluebells, depending on the season. Good cakes but slow service & occasionally grumpy staff in cafe.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Popular Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visisted on Sunday the 21st October on a very damp misty and murky day. Had the weather been better I think we would have enjoyed it more and stayed longer. Therefore well worth a second visit.On wet days its very muddy everywhere so go prepared. Weekends are very busy with families, would recomend going on a week day during term times. The tea room didn't seem big enough for the amount of people that visit at weekends. We didn't stop for tea because of the queue. The gents toilets need upgrading. All said and done, very beautiful autumn colours and surrounding walks

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The kids just love coming here, a great runaround place, with trees to climb everywhere. The boat house is rather special. Natures paradice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“wear your walking boots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited last Sunday and it was very busy in the carpark, even the overflow carpark was overflowing but it did'nt matter as the grounds are huge. Its quiet a hike down to the lake or should I say its a hike back uphill but worth it.
This will be a good place to visit in a couple of weeks when the Autumn colours will be at their best.
There are 3 marked walking routes and one of these is a less strenuous one for those not so able.
This property is a bit difficult to find if you are not coming out from Godalming on the main road, we came to it on a cross country route eventually via some very small lanes which I wouldnt recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkworth Arboretum also viewed

 
Dorking, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Winkworth Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkworth Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Winkworth Arboretum to your Saves list