We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winkworth Arboretum

Winkworth Arboretum
Hascombe Road, Godalming GU8 4AD, England
01483 208477
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Godalming
Type: Gardens
Activities: Viewing foliage
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Popular Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visisted on Sunday the 21st October on a very damp misty and murky day. Had the weather been better I think we would have enjoyed it more and stayed longer. Therefore well worth a second visit.On wet days its very muddy everywhere so go prepared. Weekends are very busy with families, would recomend going on a week day during term times. The tea room didn't seem big enough for the amount of people that visit at weekends. We didn't stop for tea because of the queue. The gents toilets need upgrading. All said and done, very beautiful autumn colours and surrounding walks

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    54
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The kids just love coming here, a great runaround place, with trees to climb everywhere. The boat house is rather special. Natures paradice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“wear your walking boots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited last Sunday and it was very busy in the carpark, even the overflow carpark was overflowing but it did'nt matter as the grounds are huge. Its quiet a hike down to the lake or should I say its a hike back uphill but worth it.
This will be a good place to visit in a couple of weeks when the Autumn colours will be at their best.
There are 3 marked walking routes and one of these is a less strenuous one for those not so able.
This property is a bit difficult to find if you are not coming out from Godalming on the main road, we came to it on a cross country route eventually via some very small lanes which I wouldnt recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely walks through the woods and around the lake; go in late Spring for the magnificent display of rhododenrons and azaleas, and in the Autumn for the changing colours of the trees. Can be a bit muddy underfoot, so take your wellies! Excellent tearoom with the usual wonderful National Trust cakes!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A place to visit time and again through the seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Love going to Winkworth, and seeing how the plants progress through the seasons. Not just the obvious attraction of the amazing Azalia walk, but all the exotic tree species, and my favourites are the Red Maples in early autumn.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkworth Arboretum also viewed

 
Dorking, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Winkworth Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkworth Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Winkworth Arboretum to your Saves list