We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor House to your Saves list
The Manor House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huxley Close, Godalming GU7 2AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed here before and had mixed experiences but I think it is only fair to say that my last few visits have been very good indeed. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I was working in the evening so I had room service which is always a bit of a gamble but in this case it was very good and hot -unusual for room service!
Breakfast for me was an omelette which was excellent. I can recommend this charming hotel if you are in the Godalming area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello Owl34

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visits to the Manor House and I am pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us.

I think it is often the staff that can make or break a place and they will be pleased to learn that they are doing a good job and it's recognised by customers

For all sorts of reasons, we're not well geared up for room service. However, we try to offer a decent service for those folk who need to work, or who just want to watch a bit of television as they eat. It's the same menu that is available in the bistro and we don't make the prices higher just because we have to carry the tray to you. I'm pleased you enjoyed your meal on this occasion.

You had an omelette for breakfast. There's plenty of choice for other travellers - all sorts of pastries, cereals and fruit or a nice full English breakfast made with eggs from happy hens and sausages made by the butcher in the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    47
    11
    12
    2
See reviews for
14
37
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

the Manor House Hotel is a lovely mid 19th Century building it has a real charm to it. The Hotel is in a very picturesque area. The staff could not have been more helpful. We had one of the modern lower ground floor rooms opposite a very well equipped Gymnasium. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and a nice size. The view was lovely with lawn and mature trees and accessible via the bedrooms bay window. The one problem we had was our sleep was disturbed by other guests coming along corridor around midnight and we could hear them talking in their rooms only for a short time but annoying.
The restaurant was very nice with a very good menu and the service very good. I thought the choice of draught beers at the bar was poor, but that's a minor thing. The breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cereals and fruit the full English was very good. I would recommend The Manor House and certainly stay there again. An excellent Hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello papillonColchester and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Manor House.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked your room. These have floor to ceiling windows so that you can see the great views and any passing wildlife, such as deer and the occasional pheasant. The rooms also benefit from a door out on to the grounds, so you can
explore or just let the countryside in.

The bar is small and although I would love to be able to serve a real ale, we just haven't the turnover to be able to support it. We're great fans of the Hog's Back Brewery which is just four miles from the Manor House. We offer their range of bottled beers as a compromise to the real ale drinkers.

I'm delighted that you also enjoyed great service and food during your visit. and that you are able to recommend the Manor House to others.

the Manor House Hotel is a lovely mid 19th Century building it has a real charm to it. The Hotel is in a very picturesque area. The staff could not have been more helpful. We had one of the modern lower ground floor rooms opposite a very well equipped Gymnasium. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and a nice size. The view was lovely with lawn and mature trees and accessible via the bedrooms bay window. The one problem we had was our sleep was disturbed by other guests coming along corridor around midnight and we could hear them talking in their rooms only for a short time but annoying.
The restaurant was very nice with a very good menu and the service very good. I thought the choice of draught beers at the bar was poor, but that's a minor thing. The breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cereals and fruit the full English was very good. I would recommend The Manor House and certainly stay there again. An excellent Hotel with excellent staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed here on business several times now. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The overall facilities are good. Food is a bit mixed. Having stayed in a number of hotels in the Godalming area this would be my number 1 choice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello christopher h

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stays at the Manor House

I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that you have find the rooms clean and comfortable.

If you are staying again soon, I'd be interested to talk to you about your opinions of the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here with a wedding party - most of the other guests were staying here so we stumped up the £110 for one night. The room was very basic, with the ambience of student halls of residence. The shower was so low my boyfriend couldn't stand under it. The toiletries consisted of a dispenser on the wall, like you get in gyms. Again, like others have said in their reviews, mirror and television were hidden away in cupboards for no reason whatsoever, making it awkward to access them.
Worst of all were the small bed and pale, thin curtains which served no purpose as soon as the sun came up. We couldn't believe there was no blackout blind for the whole window. These combined for an awful night's sleep.
I complained about all of this to the receptionist who half-heartedly said she was sorry, but made no effort to compensate us for any of it.
It was a room worth £60 - absolutely nothing like the quality you would expect for £110.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello EleanorR

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Manor House.

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not like your room or the facilities generally.

The room you stayed in is in the extension, beneath the garden terrace. Like the other rooms here, it is designed with Scandinavian style in mind; comfortable, but with simple design and a clean, unfussy ambience. They all have wonderful views on to the gardens and the large windows let in plenty of natural light. These rooms have many fans amongst our regular guests but was clearly not to your taste.

There are a further thirteen more traditionally designed rooms in the main house, most of which have great views over the surrounding countryside, but offer a different ambience and may have been more to your liking.

For future visitors, there are plenty of pictures of the bedrooms on our website which may help you choose and wherever we can, we will do your best to allocate you a room in the style you prefer. A quick phone call or e mail before your arrival helps in this regard as we are often very busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived at The Manor House we received excellent service from the extremely friendly and courteous staff. Our room was comfortable, bright and airy, overlooking the beautiful grounds. Breakfast was delicious too. All in all I would thoroughly recommend The Manor House to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Karenrobert

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Manor House.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to other visitors to the area.

We aim to provide a friendly, professional, but informal service as the quality of this often distinguishes good hotels from bad. I am pleased that this is what you received.

Although we are a 19th century manor house, the building has a mix of old and new styles. The bedrooms in the old house are more traditional, whilst those in the extension, which sits under
the lawn terrace, are more modern in style. These rooms have access out onto the lawns, whilst the majority of the rooms in the main building have views over the distant sunny hills. If guests have a preference, we will always do our best to accommodate requests for particular rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is just gorgeous from the inside and outside. It was built at the end of the 19th century and is kept at a high standard today with a mix of modern and many original elements. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a very clean and modern bath. The room even had ceiling lights - something I miss in most other hotels! The service was good and polite, but not too fine at all, so we felt welcome either in jeans or business attire. We were very happy with the breakfast, as there were a lot of fresh fruit salad, bread, cereals and some warm dishes from the menu.

I would definitely book this place again.

Room Tip: Our room had an amazing view! I don't know if all the rooms come with it but one may always ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Sanninana

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of your stay at the Manor House. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit.

The Manor House is a lovely mix of old and new, with some bedrooms in the old house and the remainder in the extension which sits under the lawn terrace. All the rooms have great views over the countryside; the rooms in the main house have views to the Surrey Hills in the distance, those in the extension overlook the gardens.

We aim for professional, friendly service that's not too formal, but makes guests feel at home. I'm glad that this is what you experienced.

We also take good care with breakfast - the most important meal of the day. There's a good choice of hot items, such as smoked salmon and scrambled egg, as well as a full English breakfast which includes locally made sausages. For those that prefer somehing lighter, there's a good selection of fruits, cereals and pastries to get the day off to a great start.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff were amazing and very accommodating. They were knowledgable about the area and really friendly. The rooms were clean but very basic. The "flat screen" was very small and hidden in a cupboard and the shower/bah is basic and not very grate. The toiletries don't really reflect the price you pay. Overall the hotel is pleasant and breakfast is very nice

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello Annapatriciauk and thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Manor House.

I'm glad, overall, that you enjoyed your stay & had a good breakfast and that the folks that work here were friendly and could help you with things to do in the area. There's plenty to do, as you perhaps found out, including a visit to Denbies Vineyard, England's largest, or even a show at GLive, Guyildford's newest venue.

I do take on board the comment about toiletries. Up until a few years ago, we supplied a range of toiletries, but having quizzed guests and monitored their consumption of them, we discovered that we were hardly using any as most guests prefer to bring and use their own supplies.

The situation is under review and we may yet change the current practice. We are keen to promote green living and hold a Green Tourism Business Scheme gold award, so any changes we make will also take that into account - quality products without damaging the environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House

Address: Huxley Close, Godalming GU7 2AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is an award-winning conference centre and hotel in Godalming, that offers excellent meeting facilities and comfortable hotel accommodation in the picturesque Surrey Hills. Eleven flexible conference rooms, 31 tranquil bedrooms and a range of on-site conference facilities provide guests with the ideal setting for a variety of events. There are 31 en-suite double bedrooms in all – a traditional feel, recently refurbished, in the old house; Scandinavian design in the award-winning extension. Whatever your style, you will find everything you need at hand and the bedrooms calm, peaceful places in which to unwind, many with fabulous views across the surrounding Surrey countryside. The bedrooms are also geared for business, with plenty of well-lit desk space and a direct dial telephone to hand. High speed internet access is available free of charge and free wi-fi is accessible both in the bedrooms and throughout the building. Other business services such as photocopying and fax are also on site. We know that after a long day, tired minds need time to unwind. The gym offers a good range of cardiovascular resistance equipment and weights and there are separate ladies' and gents' saunas. Guests can also stroll around the peaceful grounds and there is a range of garden games available for sunny days. There is a small wooded area to explore and walks through the local countryside. It's important to eat well, so at the Manor House, the emphasis is on cooking tasty food that is fresh and seasonal, using ingredients that are grown or supplied locally. We also like to look after the basics and where we can, we buy ingredients that are sustainably produced, organic or Fairtrade. We also know that choice is important and offer plenty of options, from healthy snacks that will maintain your energy levels throughout the day, to special menus for those with specific allergies or diets. We are also approved by the Vegetarian Society. And when it is time to relax, Smiths bar & lounge offers somewhere to enjoy a quiet drink with a good book – or carry on networking and socialising with friends or colleagues. If you need to meet, the meeting rooms at the Manor House are not the bland, impersonal spaces you find in some hotels and conference venues. Whilst our focus is firmly on providing conference facilities for corporate customers, the Manor House is full of the character and charm you might expect from a country hotel. Meeting rooms all have natural daylight and many have stunning views or beautiful features such as old fireplaces, paneling or intricate plasterwork. And if you want to add a little extra to your conference, we have a meeting room specially designed to help creative thinking and can help with team building activities from treasure hunts to duck herding!Locally, if you do get a chance to go and explore, there's quite a list of places worth a visit including Denbies Vineyard, England's largest, Loseley House, the RHS gardens aat Wisley and Polesdon Lacey. Closer to home, a short walk away, Godalming is a picturesque market town with a pretty high street and a small selection of shops, whilst nearby Guildford is a busy, affluent town with great shops, restaurants and entertainment. Hop on the train and you can be there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Godalming
Manor Hotel Godalming
The Manor House Godalming, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.