We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House

Save Saved
You added The Manor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huxley Close, Godalming GU7 2AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Godalming
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Been living here for 3 weeks spacious semi under ground rooms with big picture windows. Nice gym with sauna, good food and very helpful and friendly staff. Great menu choce and always excellently cooked.

Room Tip: Go for the downstairs newer rooms with views over the garden. Opening the curtains in the morning to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello DicktheDuck

Thank you for taking the time to review the Manor House.

I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had friendly service and good food over the last three weeks.

You stayed in one of the downstairs rooms which were built into a hillside about a dozen years ago. As you say, these have great views over the garden and even a door onto the outside world for when it's warm enough to step outside.

There are also 13 rooms in the main house. These are more traditional in style and most have fantastic views over the Surrey Hills in the distance.

Whichever style of room takes your fancy, they are all well equipped with work space if you need it, a comfortable bed and free wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
20
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked a large party of guests into the hotel for my daughters wedding so we had a mix of young and old opinions for me to consider when making this review. Without exception everyone including my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the hotel. The rooms were really comfortable, clean and well equipped with everything from free wi-fi, tea and coffee, ironing board, complimentary wine and a gift packed ensemble of bathroom products. The hotel has a small but well equipped gym and spa with ample car parking. The staff were extremely helpful and everyone went out their way to ensure our stay was relaxed and comfortable. We had a late night party for several of our guests in the hotel bar after our daughters wedding (we had the wedding itself in a different venue) but again the staff were bright and cheerful even into the wee small hours making a perfect ending to the day. Breakfast was really good within a variety of options from American, continental to the full English. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone needing a base for a wedding, golfing break or conference as the room rates are quite competitive with anything else available in the area

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors as the views are wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, General Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Crazyhorse3

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Manor House.

I am delighted that you and your party, without exception, enjoyed your time with us. We have all the mod cons as you state, and fine views to boot, but it is often the staff that make a stay. The team here do everything they can to make guests comfortable and I'm pleased that their work paid off.

We pride ourselves on the breakfast we serve as it's sometimes the only meal that guests eat with us. There's plenty of choice - homemade muesli, eggs from happy free-range hens and sausages produced for us by a butcher in the local village - everything you need to set you up for the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Manor House is a fantastic venue, with a wonderful mix of period and modern facilities. The building decor flows very well, from the dark but warm reception area, through to the bright and welcoming bar and on to the spacious restaurant with views to die for. The highlight for me though was the newer bedrooms, set into the hillside. A wonderful utilisation of space and a great talking point. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hello JohnTurpin

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of the Manor House.

The Manor House is a grand Victorian house that we have worked hard on so that the old, such as the wood pannelled reception, blends with the new, such as the bright, welcoming bar.

I am particularly pleased that you liked the bedrooms in the new wing, set into a hillside, as you say, and with fantastic views of the surrounding countryside and a patio door so you can step outside to enjoy them too.

The rooms in the main house also enjoy fabulous views over the Surrey hills, so whether you prefer the traditional decor of these rooms, or the modern Scandinavian style of the rooms in the extension, a great night's sleep always comes in a room with a view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here the night of our wedding (held at nearby Clock Barn Farm) an had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful, we were in one of the honeymoon suites and the room was fabulous and very modern and clean. The breakfast was also delicious an you could order a full english / cooked breakfast, all included in the price of your stay. The reception staff were also super friendly, but this may have been because it was our wedding day! Even so, a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello littlepinksophie

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review of the Manor House.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and liked your bedroom. There are a two rooms we use for newly weds and both are as you describe - modern , but with traditiuonal touches as befits a Victorian building. Both also have fabulous view over the distant Surrey Hills.

Breakast too, is something we are proud of. There is a good cold selection to choose from and for those that fancy it, a Surrey breakfast that includes organic eggs and sausages made by the butcher in the village. It's a great start to the day, particularly on cold mornings!

We are a small team at the Manor House and try to look after all our guests and make them feel welcome. The reception team are delighted that you found them "super friendly"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stay here whenever I visit the area. The staff are first class as is the food and the room.
I have only stayed in the rooms downstairs light and mondern feel to them the ipod dock is very handy to have. Bar staff proffesional and Lisa the manager is a Star.
Breakfast is always a big treat lots on offer all freshly prepared.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
hello ahum6

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review of the Manor House. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your visits so far.

The rooms downstairs are light and modern, as you say, and have a door onto the gardens, which is great for nice days in summer. There is also plenty of desk space if you need to work whilst you're here. Some rooms, but not all, have ipod docks as part of the television. If it's an especially important part of your stay, let us know and we'll do our best to help!

Lisa is a star and she and her team look after the service of all the food and drink, including the breakfasts you like so much. It's the last impression most guests have of the Manor House so we try to make it memorable, even if it's just a cheery smile and a happy "good morning".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORDSHIRE
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed 2 days and 1 night - attending a business seminar - Conference room nice and chairs quite comfortable. Had a drama getting there - car broke down so had to get the rest of the way by taxi - advised staff on arrival that my car would be arriving there later with the breakdown truck and that someone would be coming later to hopefully fix it. They said they would look after that for me as I didn't want to be disturbed in the seminar. I had requested a ground floor room as I am not brilliant with stairs and I could see from previou reviews the bedrooms in the old part of the house were on the 2nd floor. What I didn't realise was the ground floor rooms are in reality lower ground floor under the rear terrace, and you have to down a long staircase to get to them - which if you have mobility problems like me is a bit of an issue. The conference room was also on the 1st floor so again the stairs were a bit of an issue. I can get up and down stairs but it takes a lot of effort, but if you are in a wheelchair this hotel isn't really suitable. Beautiful interior to house - especially the entrance hall, and pleasant bar are - Bar shuts at 11pm - I think that's not because the hotel necessarily want it to, but because of licencing issues because it is an residential area. The actual room I had was quite pleasant and for the rate I paid more than adequate - Big desk very useful as I had lots of studying to do. Had to ring reception because I couldn't find the TV (It is actually in a cupboard, on a pull out tray, so I really should have searched a bit more!). Buffet lunch was nice with choice of hot and cold. Evening meal was OK with v pleasant staff, a slight issue I had was politely and promptly dealt with. Breakfast looked good with a wide choice including Salmon and Scrabled Egg and American Pancakes as well as more traditional choices, but I only had some toast and juice as I was too nervous about an exam I was taking that morning! I would recommend this hotel as a good hotel for meetings and conferences as the facilities are good - Gym looked nice but I didn't use it.

Room Tip: Difficult access to all rooms if you are disabled - even the "ground floor" rooms are stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello Terrys_FOLLIES

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Manor House. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to recomend us as a good business hotel.

I'm glad that you found good service and that you liked the food too. We try to produce as much as we can in our own kitchen using local, seasonal produce. The quality is far better and allows us to be a bit more imaginative, offering things like pancakes and scrambled egg with smoked salmon, as you saw at breakfast.

As you point out, access to The Manor House bedrooms is a bit of a challenge for those who have mobility problems.The ground floor, though, is accessible and the dining room, bar and some meeting rooms on this level too. We also have ramps to hand, so that those in wheelchairs can get to the garden terrace.

There is an accessibility page and downloads on our website, where access around the building is described in some detail and this will help visitors with restricted mobility find out more before they get here.

Lots of you colleagues were also nervous about the exam you were taking, but I hope that you did well and passed with flying colours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a wedding locally. We were allowed to check in nice and early to get changed and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We had a drink from the bar, and i had to change anpint over as it was cloudy and a bit off.
We had a bit of a mixup with the room allocation but was soon sorted and we were told that the room we ended up with wouldn't need to chang, though this changed after we had retired and soon were told we were moving downstairs. The eventual room was great, a nice touch to have a patio door which was great a it was a warm night.

The bed was let down a little by the undersheet which was quite rustly and uncomfortable.

A good hotel, let down by a few annoying problems that could have been easily prevented with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hello Grumbleweeduk

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with at the Manor House.

Your stay does sound a mixed bag but I'm delighted you thought us a good hotel! I am sorry for the mix up with your room booking, but am glad that you did like the room that you ended up in -a room in the downstairs block with views over the countryside and access on to the lawns.

It is sometimes difficult to be able to let everybody check in early, but I'm pleased that we were able to help on this occasion. We do try and help guests with whatever requests they have, particularly if they, like you, have to be somewhere important early during the day.

I am also pleased that you found the staff helpful and friendly and understand from them that they also apologised and offered a small discount for the inconvenience we caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House

Address: Huxley Close, Godalming GU7 2AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is an award-winning conference centre and hotel in Godalming, that offers excellent meeting facilities and comfortable hotel accommodation in the picturesque Surrey Hills. Eleven flexible conference rooms, 31 tranquil bedrooms and a range of on-site conference facilities provide guests with the ideal setting for a variety of events. There are 31 en-suite double bedrooms in all – a traditional feel, recently refurbished, in the old house; Scandinavian design in the award-winning extension. Whatever your style, you will find everything you need at hand and the bedrooms calm, peaceful places in which to unwind, many with fabulous views across the surrounding Surrey countryside. The bedrooms are also geared for business, with plenty of well-lit desk space and a direct dial telephone to hand. High speed internet access is available free of charge and free wi-fi is accessible both in the bedrooms and throughout the building. Other business services such as photocopying and fax are also on site. We know that after a long day, tired minds need time to unwind. The gym offers a good range of cardiovascular resistance equipment and weights and there are separate ladies' and gents' saunas. Guests can also stroll around the peaceful grounds and there is a range of garden games available for sunny days. There is a small wooded area to explore and walks through the local countryside. It's important to eat well, so at the Manor House, the emphasis is on cooking tasty food that is fresh and seasonal, using ingredients that are grown or supplied locally. We also like to look after the basics and where we can, we buy ingredients that are sustainably produced, organic or Fairtrade. We also know that choice is important and offer plenty of options, from healthy snacks that will maintain your energy levels throughout the day, to special menus for those with specific allergies or diets. We are also approved by the Vegetarian Society. And when it is time to relax, Smiths bar & lounge offers somewhere to enjoy a quiet drink with a good book – or carry on networking and socialising with friends or colleagues. If you need to meet, the meeting rooms at the Manor House are not the bland, impersonal spaces you find in some hotels and conference venues. Whilst our focus is firmly on providing conference facilities for corporate customers, the Manor House is full of the character and charm you might expect from a country hotel. Meeting rooms all have natural daylight and many have stunning views or beautiful features such as old fireplaces, paneling or intricate plasterwork. And if you want to add a little extra to your conference, we have a meeting room specially designed to help creative thinking and can help with team building activities from treasure hunts to duck herding!Locally, if you do get a chance to go and explore, there's quite a list of places worth a visit including Denbies Vineyard, England's largest, Loseley House, the RHS gardens aat Wisley and Polesdon Lacey. Closer to home, a short walk away, Godalming is a picturesque market town with a pretty high street and a small selection of shops, whilst nearby Guildford is a busy, affluent town with great shops, restaurants and entertainment. Hop on the train and you can be there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Godalming
Manor Hotel Godalming
The Manor House Godalming, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.