We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Godalming/Surrey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House

Save Saved
You added The Manor House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huxley Close, Godalming GU7 2AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Godalming
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Godalming/Surrey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I had to book the hotel literally a couple of hours before I arrived due to getting stranded on business in the area. I always research my hotels extensively before booking as I am very picky (and have been burnt before) so this left me nervous. However, this was one of the most enjoyable hotel stays I've had in a long time due to the great customer service!

The hotels Tudor style exterior is gorgeous, the interior is very charming - they have retained the old style features but made also used some modern touches to make it comfortable and stylish. My room was nicely laid out and clean, but the light came in early in the room and the only mirror in the main part of the room is in the closet which is strange and not very convenient.

The hotel bar and lounge area is small but very comfortable and cozy with a fireplace but the staff couldn't do enough for me, nothing was too much to ask, I was very impressed. I even asked specially for butternut squash with my dinner one night which wasn't on the menu and the chef happily accommodated me. The 2 dinners and 1 lunch I had at the restaurant were all very good. There is a pretty good choice for self-service breakfast although I would have liked to have seen fresh fruit instead of canned fruit and I thought that the decor/atmosphere of the breakfast room was not as nice as the hotel bar/restaurant area. You can also choose a cooked breakfast which I did one day and it was very good.

In addition, after I left I discovered that I'd left something in the room and they were very pleasant about locating the item and even sent it to me for free.

Couple of things that would make it even better - better blockage of light in the new annex bedrooms, make the bedrooms a little more luxurious like the lounge area of the hotel, a full length mirror on the wall in the room, robe and slippers. Also, they are using the new trend of just a duvet on the bed which I find too warm at times, it would be nicer if they used a traditional flat sheet and blanket plus duvet on top instead. I requested this while there and they did happily put a regular flat sheet on my bed although they didn't have a blanket.

The price I paid was 80 GBP/night which I found good value. I would definitely stay recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, General Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Hello Belgiantraveller 772

Thank you for your recent review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Manor House.

It's fantastic to get a review like this and for the team, makes all their hard work worthwhile.

If stranded in the area again, do give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
20
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

Staff were very attentive with excellent service but food was very poor.
Evening meal ~ meat completely nuked and over seasoned. Breakfast very poor probably the worst i have ever been presented with. Poached eggs tasted only of vinegar ~ bacon over cooked and cold as were the mushrooms ~ No excuse as I was in the restaurant for 7:15am for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Hello Tramper88

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast or dinner with us. We are genuinely proud of the food we produce - freshly prepared from fresh, local ingredients - but am sorry that on this occasion it was not of the desired standard. Our policy is to always replace a dish if a guest is unhappy with it, although I appreciate it is sometimes difficult to do this if you are in a group of people or if pressed for time, as you may have been at breakfast.

We work hard to provide a friendly atmosphere, so I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and found excellent service and attentive staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed here in early October and I could not have asked for more. The hotel is charming a wonderful mix of old and new.
The breakfast was nice and freshly cooked and again the staff very good.
I had room service both nights I stayed and with no extra charge for the tray (very nice change) the meals arrived very quick and very good portions. I would suggest that you ask for sauces if you want them as they do not come up with the tray, although the staff are very willing to go and get you some.
The rooms are spacious and clean and I had a lovely view of the gardens.
They do not have a pool but they do have a very nice gym and plenty of lovely walks around the garden.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Hello jayrnr

Thank you for taking a few moments to write this great review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Manor House.

The staff here work hard to provide a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and I'm pleased that that came across. Great facilities, such as those you highlight are one thing, but it's the people that make a place stand out.

I'm also pleased that you enjoyed bothh dinner and breakfast. The chefs here cook as many dishes as they can using fresh, locally sourced ingredients and we are fortunate to have a good number of local suppliers too.

Breakfast can be a bit hit and miss in some hotels. We try and cook to order, so that guests can have something good, hot and fresh to eat before starting their day.

Hopefully, if you are in the Guildford area again, you will stay at the Manor House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here recently for leisure purposes, in the 'new' bedrooms. The hotel is very obviously catered for business travellers - no luxury extra touches anywhere! The room wasn't particularly clean - dust on sufaces, only one cup but two saucers with the kettle, and a previous guest's writing on the bathroom mirror which could be seen when the mirror was steamed.

The bedroom and bathroom had poor lighting which you wouldn't expect from the new extension part. Due to the location of the room being on the ground floor, the cutains had to be closed most of the time for some privacy while getting ready in the morning, or spending time in the room during the day. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, and the bedding was cheap.

The mirror was oddly placed inside the wardrobe, making it awkward to use - there is plenty of wall space so why not have a mirror on the wall?! For the same reason, I'm not sure why the TV and tea facilities were inside the wardrobe also.

The room was very bare - no artwork,or colour anywhere! The bathroom should have had some decent toilteries in it too.

The breakfast was great, although we sat with dirty plates at our table for a long time - waitresses just kept walking past without clearing them.

All of the staff we came across were very polite. I'm sure with some good management and a few changes, this will be a great place to stay in the future. As it stands now, this hotel is not good value for money. It's essentially a travelodge/premier inn in a nicer box.

Room Tip: I would ask for a traditional room. The new extension is not very nice - although lovely to have acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry that your room wasn't perfect and will look into the points you have raised.

The Manor House is primarily a conference centre and corporate hotel, so you're correct to point out that our facilities are aimed at and designed for business travellers.That having been said, we also offer good value accommodation to all visitors to the area. At weekends, this is on a simple bed and breakfast basis.

The "new" bedrooms, constructed over a century after the bedrooms in the main house, were designed to be minamilist, uncluttered spaces with great natural daylight, where guests could either relax in quiet surroundings or work if they needed to. For this reason, as much as possible is hidden from view and colours are plain, other than for occasional bright splashes. Many guests prefer this style of room and ask for one each time they book. Ohers prefer the more traditional style of the bedrooms in the main building. We like to think that there is something for all tastes. First time visitors can get an idea of both styles by looking at the pictures on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The staff were lovely. The hotel looks fantastic But, it would have been really nice to have some good quality toiletries in the room instead there was some cheap shower gel/shampoo in a dispenser . Some body lotion would have been a nice addition too. We were only there overnight so it was not a problem, any longer and I would have started to feel and look like a prune :) My partner only had one complaint , the tv was a very small old fashioned style portable !!. I don't know if things were different in the rooms in the main part of the hotel.
On the plus side the breakfast was really tasty and we could sit outside and make the most of the sunshine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, General Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for this great review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and had weather good enough to enjoy the garden.

We are gradually replacing the old portable televisions with new Freeview flat screen televisions. All bedrooms should have new televisions by the end of the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed one night here and arrived quite late but were properly greeted and showed to our room. We were very pleased with the room as it was spacious and comfortable with a view of the quiet secluded garden.

The house is a mock tudor mansion built in the 1890s and refurbished to a very high standard and is usually used for conferences but works very well as a hotel. The staff were very friendly, the bar and other public rooms were very comfortable.

The breakfast in the morning was fresh and ample supplies of everything, the sausages in particular were excellent. I particularly liked the fact that they used normal toaster instead of one of those useless rotating contraptions. so the toast was properly done.

A bit on the pricey side but definitely value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, General Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write thispositive review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our locally produced sausages and "proper" toast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stay here for a night for an office party. Staff very friendly and helpful. Arrived too late for lunch but they made up some sandwiches for me which was greatfully appreciated. Our bedroom was large with a very comfortable bed, plenty of hanging space and all toiletries you would need. I had forgotten to pack my husband’s razor and they got one for me. I didn’t know how to walk to the town from the hotel and as it was a cold, wet day didn’t want to try. I was dropped off by a friend so we would only have the one car to drive home hence the problems with lunch and the razor, but they couldn’t be more helpful.

The lounge and bar are comfortable, light and plenty of seating. Our room overlooked the gardens and although I didn’t go round the grounds as it was a cold day, they were very well looked after and I expect on a sunny day a great place to sit with a good book and a drink. The breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice. Catered for all tastes and waiting staff excellent.

The meal for our party was again excellent, everything arrived fresh and piping hot. Quite a lot of us stayed over and the feedback from everyone was a great place to stay and we want to do the same again this year as it was such a success. Just checked the website for prices and availability and realised my review hadn’t gone through so sorry for being late.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardCanning, General Manager at The Manor House, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review. I'm glad that you enjpoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House

Address: Huxley Close, Godalming GU7 2AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House is an award-winning conference centre and hotel in Godalming, that offers excellent meeting facilities and comfortable hotel accommodation in the picturesque Surrey Hills. Eleven flexible conference rooms, 31 tranquil bedrooms and a range of on-site conference facilities provide guests with the ideal setting for a variety of events. There are 31 en-suite double bedrooms in all – a traditional feel, recently refurbished, in the old house; Scandinavian design in the award-winning extension. Whatever your style, you will find everything you need at hand and the bedrooms calm, peaceful places in which to unwind, many with fabulous views across the surrounding Surrey countryside. The bedrooms are also geared for business, with plenty of well-lit desk space and a direct dial telephone to hand. High speed internet access is available free of charge and free wi-fi is accessible both in the bedrooms and throughout the building. Other business services such as photocopying and fax are also on site. We know that after a long day, tired minds need time to unwind. The gym offers a good range of cardiovascular resistance equipment and weights and there are separate ladies' and gents' saunas. Guests can also stroll around the peaceful grounds and there is a range of garden games available for sunny days. There is a small wooded area to explore and walks through the local countryside. It's important to eat well, so at the Manor House, the emphasis is on cooking tasty food that is fresh and seasonal, using ingredients that are grown or supplied locally. We also like to look after the basics and where we can, we buy ingredients that are sustainably produced, organic or Fairtrade. We also know that choice is important and offer plenty of options, from healthy snacks that will maintain your energy levels throughout the day, to special menus for those with specific allergies or diets. We are also approved by the Vegetarian Society. And when it is time to relax, Smiths bar & lounge offers somewhere to enjoy a quiet drink with a good book – or carry on networking and socialising with friends or colleagues. If you need to meet, the meeting rooms at the Manor House are not the bland, impersonal spaces you find in some hotels and conference venues. Whilst our focus is firmly on providing conference facilities for corporate customers, the Manor House is full of the character and charm you might expect from a country hotel. Meeting rooms all have natural daylight and many have stunning views or beautiful features such as old fireplaces, paneling or intricate plasterwork. And if you want to add a little extra to your conference, we have a meeting room specially designed to help creative thinking and can help with team building activities from treasure hunts to duck herding!Locally, if you do get a chance to go and explore, there's quite a list of places worth a visit including Denbies Vineyard, England's largest, Loseley House, the RHS gardens aat Wisley and Polesdon Lacey. Closer to home, a short walk away, Godalming is a picturesque market town with a pretty high street and a small selection of shops, whilst nearby Guildford is a busy, affluent town with great shops, restaurants and entertainment. Hop on the train and you can be there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Godalming
Manor Hotel Godalming
The Manor House Godalming, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.