We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venue for a Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stag on the River

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Godalming
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stag on the River
Save
You added The Stag on the River to your Saves list
Lower Eashing Road, Godalming GU7 2QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Godalming
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Venue for a Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had my wedding held at the Stag in December 2012. It was the most amazing day, all the staff ( especially Mark Robson ) went above and beyond to make it the perfect day. All our guests said how great the food, decor, quirky bedrooms and staff were and loved the location for a wedding venue.

We went to the pub on several occasions for lunch and dinner before our big day and were never disappointed.

If you love quirky, cosy pubs with great wine, ales and fantastic food then this is the place for you!

Looking forward to going back for another Sunday lunch :-)

Room Tip: This doesn't have a swimming pool but I didn't want to rate the Stag as terrible ( far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    48
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
66
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is almost more a "restaurant with rooms", as the bar area of the pub is small, the restaurant large and the rooms are gorgeous little boltholes hidden away from the noise and atmosphere downstairs. Wonderful location only a minute or two from the A3 (but you'd never know it), over an ancient old bridge and located picturesquely beside the river, with a lovely outside terrace. Faultless, friendly and professional service from the second we arrived and really smart contemporary interior decoration. Our room, tucked away at the end of the corridor, was small but perfectly formed. Really wouldn't need anything more for a night or two away in the countryside. The only thing that let The Stag down for us was the food - whilst the wine list is comprehensive and well-priced and the cooked breakfast was delicious, the evening menu wasn't varied enough (very sweet, sticky puddings, no cheese, etc) and the quality of our steak meat was not good (and served with the kind of criss-cross searing not normally seen outside of an Aberdeen Angus Steakhouse!). This wasn't enough to detract from a gorgeous little gem in the countryside, however - I'd definitely recommend it but I might have been a little disappointed if I'd only gone for supper rather than also staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I'm a regular here and can highly recommend it,.... with a few caveats. It had a makeover a few years ago which took it up a notch will lovely outdoor seating with an outdoor oredring point which is a great addition. I would say the munu choices are fair / good depending on the specials on offer. The food quality is generally very high and the service is friendly and usually very attentive. But there in lies my only issue which is they just don't have enough staff to cope at peak times at which point the service quality plummets. I have been there several times on a Sunday lunchtime and had to wait an unacceptable time for the food to arrive (sometimes up to an hour). To be fair though, the head chef is obviously on his game with limited resources as the food quality always seems to remain consistent.Also at peak times it is extremely noisy, often unbearable so if you are looking forward to a cosy chat in a small group on a weekend lunchtime you are going to be dissapointed (not much they can do about that to be fair)

I have spoken with the manager about the staff numbers on a few occasions but the problem does not appear to be fixed as yet. So yes if you are in the area give this place a try but I recommend you leave it till late afternoon to get the best experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I ate lunch here today and loved every minute of it. The food was out of this world (haddock and chips) and the service was fantastic. Lovely rustic feel to the place. I look forward to going there again soon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having lived in godalming for a few months, I stayed at and ate lunch and dinner here on numerous occasions and found the food to be delicious and served promptly. The customer service from the waitstaff and barman was always fantastic. I really enjoyed dining outside by the river. The room I stayed in was quaint, quiet and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The location is fantastic as well and is literally just off the A3. After reading older reviews I can only say that those problems seem to have been rectified some time ago!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Have loved this place for many years, great food, interesting ales (Stag Autumn Ale) and a warm log fire. Dishes of the day always a winner. Lovely place in summer too with plenty of outside seating. Parking can be limited. Lovely walks below the bridge along the Wey towards Godalming.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

When you book into this hotel dont expect earl grey in your bedroom, the bottled tea is far more enjoyable.Traditional English Ale with two glasses awaits you, a gift on yor first night should you wish to drink it.
Our room along with two others, are in the main building and with no lift it's a real challenge to get your cases up the stairs, but there is no need to worry as assistance is close to hand.
All the rooms have names instead of numbers, and are named after the villages in the surrounding area, a little different to what you might expect but then this is no ordinary hotel you are staying in.
Mind Your Head and then duck when you open the door in the 'brook' bedroom, the ceiling is barely 6' in parts, the room itself no more than 12'sq with a cosy ensuite shower and fitted wardrobe to the right. The bed is a decent size and with a small window over the hotel entrance the room has many lights to prevent collisions with the low beams.
Complimentary tea and coffee as you would expect and a cupboard in the corridor with a fridge - fresh milk for each of the guests makes a difference for the other 'best drink of the day'. Breakfast is continental during the week, but with so much choice of croissants, pain de chocolat, toast, selection of cereals, fresh fruit, natural yoghurt with rasberrries, boiled eggs, freshly squeezed orange, apple, juices, cheese, salmon, you wont want a full english anyway. A cooked breakfast is, however available at the weekend if you require it.
The restaurant food is fantastic and at the top end of prices well worth paying the extra for an occassion thats few and far between for most of us.
This hotel has so much history but with a mix of subtle old and new it is very much in the 21st century without the skype! A great place to stay and thanks again to Jackie, front of house.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stag on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag on the River

Address: Lower Eashing Road, Godalming GU7 2QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag on the River is an authentic and charming riverside pub set in the beautiful Surrey country side just outside of the town of Godalming. It has seven letting bedrooms all with their own ensuite facilities, unique character and tasteful decoration. Inspiring, rustic and hearty food and drink made from the best ingredients our local land has to offer awaits those who stay for dinner and a drink. You will always receive the warmest of welcomes at the Stag ....... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stag On The River Hotel Godalming
The Stag On The River Godalming, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stag on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.