We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food and welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ring O'Bells Inn

The Ring O'Bells Inn
High Street, Wookey, Wells BA5 1JZ, England
01749678079
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Wookey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $61
Cuisines: British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Originally 3 cottages knocked into one, The Ring O Bells is a 14th century pub in the heart of the picturesque village of Wookey, 2 miles from the Cathedral City of Wells, the smallest City in the UK and 6.5 Miles from Cheddar & Glastonbury. The pub still retains it's original inglenook fireplaces and visible stone work. You will always be guaranteed a fresh, cool pint and some home cooked, freshly prepared food served by either Landlord Clive or Landlady Sam, along with a very warm welcome. We are dog, children, OAP & family friendly!
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food and welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited this pub several times on our holiday, the reception was always very warm and friendly, also dogs are made very welcome. The food was excellent, with a good range on the menu, the portions are good and filling, whilst sensibly priced. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Traditional home cooked pub food at a good price. Generous portions. Homemade desserts. Hosts very welcoming and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazed how good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Recommended by landlord of a pub that could not fit 5 of us in.
Great welcome and superb food, all dishes freshly cooked to perfection.
Prices were very competitive and the wines were excellent - we will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Walking lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although they don't do meals Monday lunchtimes the Landlord went out of his way to supply my friend and I (we were halfway through a 16 mile walk) with something to eat, his wife did us proud with some excellant sandwiches (BLT's) from their menu. Oh and the beer was good as well! Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NigelBourne, Owner at The Ring O'Bells Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Steve! It was a pleasure to see you and your companion the other day and I'm really glad we were able to help you out with some food to aid you on your 16 miler! Hope we see you again; you'll be very welcome!

Regards,

Julie and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great welcome & great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Camping nearby end enjoyed a very pleasant Sunday lunch at The Ring O'Bells, good food and efficient service. Excellent value

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ring O'Bells Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ring O'Bells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ring O'Bells Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.