We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for the little you get” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wookey Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wookey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wookey Farm
Monks Ford, Wookey, Wells BA5 1DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Expensive for the little you get”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Five members of the LDWA, backpacking with two tents were charged £25 for the night of 27th March. We arrived at around 18:00 to find the toilets just being cleaned despite the fact that we had booked weeks in advance. The portaloo didn't flush properly and there was only a trickle of cold water to the filthy basins in the other toilet block. We couldn't find any lighting either at the Portaloo or toilet block and no hot water at all. The previous night we paid £20 for a site with hot water, showers and proper recycle facilities.

Don't get me wrong, we are backpackers and well used to roughing it but this site represents extremely poor value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildgoatie, Owner at Wookey Farm, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We were very sorry to read that you were so disappointed with our site. It seems as if you hadn’t had a chance to view our website before you came. Feedback says that the website accurately describes what you are getting at Wookey Farm. It also gives our pricing structure which is based on units (ie tent or caravan) not per person. Had all five members been in one tent then the cost would have been £12.50 so only £2.50 per person. We can only apologise for the fact the toilets were being cleaned at 6pm – we had just had several goats give birth that day and so were behind schedule. We would like to reassure readers that the toilets are cleaned every day. As our website implies we are a ‘back to nature’, low impact site so we deliberately don’t have any shower blocks or electric lights/hot water which use lots of energy. We are looking at some solar lights for the compost loos and hope these will be in place in the next few weeks.
Our approach to recycling (again explained on the website) is to place a recycling bin on every pitch. There was a sign on the side of the bin. Hopefully this makes it as easy as possible for you to recycle. We then come and collect and sort your recycling. We apologise if this was not explained to you.
What you do get for your money is a quiet campsite situated on a farm where campers are able to meet the animals, campfires right next to your pitch, rope swings and stunning views. We’re sorry that it wasn’t the sort of campsite you would choose to stay at and hope that, if you get a chance to look at our website, you will feel that it does in fact describe our site accurately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay at Wookey Farm with our tourer and two kids. We had a great time, the kids loved wading through the river in their wellies and adored the animals on the farm. The owners kindly allowed our kids to help out with the feeding of the goats.
The site is literally a field. No play area, no fancy shower block, no bar. But that was what we wanted and the kids loved being able to run around the field with their kites- we were the only ones there. The site is ideally situated to visit the many attractions in the area. Wells is about 10 minutes away and Wookey Hole Caves is worth a visit. Weston-Super-Mare and Brean are also nearby.
We will definitely return. At £10 per night including hook up, it's superb value for money. The owners even towed our van out when the 4 hours of constant rain rendered our car incapable!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

we had one night here last weekend. Took two teenagers so had two of the smaller pitches at the end of the site. No problems locating the site with the directions on the web site and camping area is clearly signposted once on the farm

Its a basic site with no showers but the chemical toliet was kept clean and perfectly adequate
The pitch sizes were good, we liked the round pitches and the wild bit of grass between each pitch

My only negaive would be the site of the rubbish area at the top of the site. i apprecite the wish to recyle and support it but the area was a real mess and a possible attraction for vermin. As I say its the only point, and a shame as it really is a lovely place to stay. It's not bad enough to put me off or not recommend to others though

The local pub is a short walk away with a great welcome and its easy to get into wells from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildgoatie, Owner at Wookey Farm, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi,
Glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm afraid the recycling and rubbish did get a bit out of hand by the end of the season! After we've finished the compost loos, the next project is to get some neat and tidy recycling bins and a nice willow hedge to blank off the rubbish area. Hopefully all in time for 2013. Hope to see you again. Sarah and Ian, Wookey Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were looking for a campsite that was rough and ready and allowed proper old fashioned campfires and we found it at Wookey Farm. Don't expect any showers or facilities beyond a portaloo and drinking water but in our case that was perfect. Unspoilt countryside, lovely pitches with longer grass to give some privacy, rope swings and access to the river axe (but not so near as to be a hazard to small children / flooding). The field is a field and not the outdoor section of a garden centre like so many campsites are now with elec. and satellite and flower beds!! The kids had a brilliant time and so did we, even though it was raining constantly, none of us noticed as we were too busy toasting marshmallows! The greeting we got from Sarah was welcoming and enthusiastic unlike the rather odd and 'you can't do this' attitudes of other campsites. The site is also situated very close to Wells and Wookey (note the site isn't actually in wookey hole which was a bit deceiving at first) and so if you're not a fan of the primus stove (which we aren't - sorry traditionalists) then there's great eating to be had just a couple of miles away. Try Andres cafe for breakfast and the Globe Inn for dinner in Wells.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A lovely place. The campsite is bijou- one flat rectangular field- but really well thought out, with rough grass dividing very generous camping spots (along with a couple of tiny spots specially designed for little tents). Basic as other reviewers have noted, but the portaloo is kept clean (and decorated with fresh flowers and fairy lights!) and drinking water, washing up spot etc all present and correct, along with recycling and refuse.

Ian and Sarah are in the process of building an impressive looking structure at the end of the field which will be composting loos.

The campfire spots dotted around the site are also very welcome and add to the relaxed, community feel. Ian and Sarah very pleasant and enthusiastic; the rope swings and goats and pigs add interest for the kids, but the space itself and lovely views just lend themselves to running wild and having fun. Quietest campsite at night that I have ever been to: lovely. Peace and quiet was disturbed on Sunday however, courtesy of a nearby scrambling track. Didn't start too early though, and we just went out to Wells to get out of earshot!

Also recommend the Ring Of Bells; very child and dog friendly, and staff and locals also very friendly and welcoming. Food was good too, and we were lucky enough to have some live music which was fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent Easter Weekend 2012 here and it was truly wonderful. The perfect place for peace and quiet but lots going on. My husband says it is the best campsite going. Friendly hosts where a warm welcome awaits everyone. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We had the luck to find this little gem.
After finding them through the website which was very comprehensive we booked a place at the last minute with no trouble at a very reasonable price

Sarah and Ian make you truly welcome with their natural enthusiasm and positive outlook

The campsite is basic but has electric hookups available and toilet facilities.

There is a real family feel with a working farm there and the children can feed the goats. If you enjoy walks there are many that start from the campsite.

There is a campfire where you can sit in the evening as well loads of room for the children to play together.

Mine particularity enjoyed the rope swing by the river..

It is ideally situated very close to the city of Wells for day visits if you wish as well as lovely local pub which does reasonable food and a number of good real ales

Regards

Alex

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wookey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Farm

Address: Monks Ford, Wookey, Wells BA5 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Wookey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wookey Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wookey Farm to your Saves list