We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn & Restaurant

The Pheasant Inn & Restaurant
Wells Road | Worth, Wookey, Wells BA5 1LQ, England
01749 672355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Wookey
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Well, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Decided on a last minute trip out for lunch and pulled in here. What a great move. Cajun chicken dish was first rate and the Chicken and Bacon salad just perfect. Both meals were reasonably priced and the wait for the freshly cooked food was more than acceptable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Somerset U.K.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Pheasant resurrected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Delighted that after many years in the doldrums this great little pub has a new lease of life with new management. Lovely friendly atmosphere and enjoyed great food from (changing from week to week) well priced lunch menu. Can also thoroughly recommend the Sunday lunch - melt in the mouth beef followed by excellent crumble and chocolate brownie with ice cream and good wine by the glass. Look forward to many more visits.
NB not open for food on Mondays or Tuesday lunchtime but open all day at weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hooray for the pheasant! Good pub again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

New managers really working hard to get this great little pub back to how it should be- good pub food, great quality food, nice beer, great atmosphere. At long last some people who are trying to make a real go of this country village pub. Good luck . Eaten here a few times now, each time been really happen with food and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Sunday Lunch Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

First visit to this Inn, pleasant atmosphere and a warm welcome, we spend hours looking for simple home cooked Sunday Roast Dinners, it was a pleasure to find this Inn delivering just that and more. Highly recommended we will be back.

Looking forward to sampling of delights on th menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Dined here with one of my girlfriends for a catch up meal.
I am local and was looking for a place within walking distance and found that The Pheasant had reopened so we figured we would give it a go.
We are more than glad we did, new management have somewonderfully friendly and helpfull staff a credit to them!
The food was gorgeous, I had a smoked duck starter and my friend vegetable spring rolls, both were perfectly seasoned and had a wonderful array of flavours. To follow I had pork belly and my friend a mushroom stroganoff, again perfectly seasoned, wonderfully warm and definitely enough to fill your belly. It was delicious, a very nice warm welcoming atmosphere and a great vibe.
Well done to the new team!
Will definietly be back in on a regular basis keep it up!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Pheasant Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.