We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze

Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze
Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
44-1749-672243
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“overpriced and very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited here as a family of 5 and cost nearly £90 so was expecting full day out, however by 11.45 we had been all way round and kids were bored, we waited till 1pm to see the circus which was worth the wait. certainly wont be visiting again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    29
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jennifer Lanham
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Little ones loved it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Tis is a very short maze, t the little ones really enjoyed it and did it several times. It was good for a laugh, but not nearly long enough to entertain for long!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Brilliant fun for kids and adults alike. Its probably somewhere we would return too but great to visit for the first time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Children are always fascinated by mirrors and although we were a party of adults, even we were a little caught out by the maze! A fun few minutes, this part of the attraction is all part of the Wookey Hole Experience, so you pay one ticket and everything else is included in the price (except food, drinks and gifts of course)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Tourist Attraction Time Forgot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was just dire. We got a deal with Groupon to visit the caves and thought the kids should go as we both remembered visiting when we were young. We only went for a day trip but that turned out to be several hours too long. Everything about the place was tired and even though it was mid June the place had a really out of season feel about it. I can only imagine how depressing it must be to visit on a wet Wednesday in October. The ticket booth was closed so we had to get our tickets from the ice cream parlour which made it all feel very amateurish. We went straight to the caves and had the tour (we passed a random man dressed as Jack Sparrow from Pirates of the Carribean, neither he nor we seemed to know why). The Guide was fine but it all lasted about 20 minutes and then we were back outside in what seemed to be the worst dinosaur park ever. I know our children were a bit too old for it but I'm not sure who it was aimed at - especially these days when even the youngest children have high expectations. The other "attractions" we whizzed past or through were a circus museum (why??), a mirror maze (dirty mirrors and about 10 in total), a soft play area which stank of old chip oil, crazy golf (which we didn't do as it was raining - and it was extra), paper mill (which just seemed to be one man talking), a very small and uninspiring Roman display and a penny arcade which we didn't even stop to investigate.
Apparently our tickets should have cost £48. I think I might have called the police for daylight robbery if I had paid this.
The caves are fine but they need to work out who to aim the whole attraction at and improve EVERYTHING. Please don't waste your time or money. It is such a shame as they have a fabulous natural resource in the cave and they could really make it a good day but they have to ditch all the naff 'attractions', decide what they really want to be and start all over again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze also viewed

 

Been to Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.