We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a real home from home with great food and good company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorngarth Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thorngarth Country Guest House to your Saves list
Thorngarth Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER DB&B SPECIAL
Ranked #2 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
northampton
1 review
“Like a real home from home with great food and good company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I can't fault this fantastic guest house, the emphasis being on guest. You are welcomed and looked after like an old friend.

The food is beautifully cooked by Sally (and the occasional bit od bacon by Dave!) and there is lots of it for all you hearty walkers. The atmosphere is cosy and welcoming with a roaring fire in the cold evenings. Dave is always on hand before dinner to ask if you would like pre-dinner drinks -mmmm.

I think it says everything that all the guests were returning, some for the fourth time! That's a real recommendation. Do try and stay here if you are in the area, it really made our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
289
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Dave and Sally are both excellent hosts, welcoming you into their home with enthusiasm, attention to detail, and great local knowledge. I thoroughly recommend Thorngarth.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Very enjoyable stay, lovely home cooked breakfasts & very comfortable room

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed one night at Thorngarth and wished it was longer. The welcome from the proprietors, Dave and Sally, was warm and friendly, the room was pleasant and spotless and the breakfast was lovely. The location was also ideal. Couldn't fault it, and will definitely be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We decided on a last minute break to Ingleton after an absence of 30 years and it was just how we remembered wonderful and captivating. The discovery of Thorngarth was the icing on the cake. Dave and Sally were excellent hosts in every respect. Welcoming,warm and funny they made us feel so at ease it was like we were in our own home.The food was superb Sally worked like a trooper always had a smile on her face.After delicious breakfasts we would walk and climb the days away before returning to much needed first class dinners.If you weren't sure what to do or where to go Dave would sort you out, his knowledge and enthusiasm of the area was second to none.
We would wholeheartedly recommend Thorngarth and look forward to returning ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Our second stay in Thorngarth, again for a week, was as delightful as our first. Sally and David are the perfect hosts, welcoming, attentive and thoughtful. Our en suite room was a perfect size with lovely, open views across a river and fields. Breakfast was always very delicious and filling, so much so that we skipped having a midday meal. Thorngarth itself is in an excellent location with a whole variety of places to visit on the doorstep. We both totally recommend Thorngarth and consider it to be one of the very best places that we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Dave and Sally are really excellent hosts, attention to detail and the food is well above par. Location is very central and within walking distance of some of England's best views and features. Dave will give you all the info you need at super breakfast for a great day out. A short drive will put you in some of Yorkshire or Lake district's best scenery
Doug & Brenda

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Address: New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorngarth Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorngarth Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.