We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Yorkshire break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorngarth Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thorngarth Country Guest House to your Saves list
Thorngarth Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER DB&B SPECIAL
Ranked #2 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful Yorkshire break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Dave and Sally Gregory were like friends not proprietors. The hospitality were second to none, the 3 course dinners were excellent, flavoursome, good portions and a choice of meals to suit all tastes.
Dave was a great 'tour guide' and gave excellent tips on where to visit. Very helpful and co-operative and nothing was too much trouble.
Sally was great -cheerful, interactive with the guests and satisfied all needs and requirements.
We stayed when there were 3 other couples that had been visiting twice year since 2003!!
We enjoyed our stay so much that we are thinking about making it a yearly visit to Yorkshire!!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House and also enjoyed the activities and scenery in and around the area. There is so much to see and do. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Thanks too for posting a review with your comments. Kind Regards - Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
289
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thank you Dave and Sally for making our 4 day stay so enjoyable, lovely food and a nice choice for evening and breakfast meals, clean and comfortable room and so helpful with places to visit, and there were plenty of places to visit. Have already recommended to family, and hope to return again soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your comments following your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House. Sally and I appreciate it and are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards - Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thorngarth is superb! A very comfortable and welcoming place with a calm and relaxed atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely be back and we would highly recommend a stay here! Great home cooking and hospitality all round.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House and planning your next visit. Sally and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and comment on your experience in this neck of the woods. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Thanks again. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

it may have been a cold easter but dave & sally gave us a warm welcoming & kept the heat on with excellent breakfast & evening meals.we stayed in honeymoon suit which revived old memorys must do it again thankyou sally & dave see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Sally and I are really pleased that you again enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Hope you enjoyed the Easter Bunny spoils. Thanks you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you both back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were not disappointed to be led to this B&B by previous reviews. Top notch and excellent value for money. The warmest of welcome from Dave and Sally.awaited us. Stayed 4 nights to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Lovely location and easy access to the Dales. Hopes to return again soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your experience at Thorngarth House. Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your 30th wedding anniversary in the Dales and especially at Thorngarth House. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our stay at Thorngarth was very last minute but Dave was very helpful and fitted us in. The room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Kilnsey Crag twin room which had a lovely view over the dales up towards Ingelborough. Sally and Dave are very good hosts,always friendly and helpful. The breakfast options are varied serving full cooked breakfast as well as fresh fruit, both of which were beautiful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Thorngarth House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend in this neck of the woods where there is so much to see and do in and around the Dales. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messingham, North Lincs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned after staying for 3 nights at The Thorngarth, March19th to 22nd, which would be about the 7th visit. As usual on arrival we got a warm friendly greeting and a pot of tea with chocolate biscuits. Dave and Sally are the perfect hosts and their accommodation is kept to the highest of standards. Food is nutritional and beautifully cooked with plenty of choices. If you haven't been before, do so, you wont be dissappointed. Thank you Sally and Dave looking after us so well again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Lovely to see you both again. Sally and I are very pleased that you yet again enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House, and that you for taking the time to post a review. Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Address: New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorngarth Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorngarth Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.