We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are already planning our next stay at Thorngarth bnb.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorngarth Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thorngarth Country Guest House to your Saves list
Thorngarth Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER WEEKEND SPECIAL
Ranked #1 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
1 review
“We are already planning our next stay at Thorngarth bnb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Thorngarth is superb! A very comfortable and welcoming place with a calm and relaxed atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely be back and we would highly recommend a stay here! Great home cooking and hospitality all round.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House and planning your next visit. Sally and I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and comment on your experience in this neck of the woods. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Thanks again. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
275
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
britain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

it may have been a cold easter but dave & sally gave us a warm welcoming & kept the heat on with excellent breakfast & evening meals.we stayed in honeymoon suit which revived old memorys must do it again thankyou sally & dave see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Sally and I are really pleased that you again enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Hope you enjoyed the Easter Bunny spoils. Thanks you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you both back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were not disappointed to be led to this B&B by previous reviews. Top notch and excellent value for money. The warmest of welcome from Dave and Sally.awaited us. Stayed 4 nights to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Lovely location and easy access to the Dales. Hopes to return again soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your experience at Thorngarth House. Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your 30th wedding anniversary in the Dales and especially at Thorngarth House. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our stay at Thorngarth was very last minute but Dave was very helpful and fitted us in. The room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Kilnsey Crag twin room which had a lovely view over the dales up towards Ingelborough. Sally and Dave are very good hosts,always friendly and helpful. The breakfast options are varied serving full cooked breakfast as well as fresh fruit, both of which were beautiful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Thorngarth House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend in this neck of the woods where there is so much to see and do in and around the Dales. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messingham, North Lincs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned after staying for 3 nights at The Thorngarth, March19th to 22nd, which would be about the 7th visit. As usual on arrival we got a warm friendly greeting and a pot of tea with chocolate biscuits. Dave and Sally are the perfect hosts and their accommodation is kept to the highest of standards. Food is nutritional and beautifully cooked with plenty of choices. If you haven't been before, do so, you wont be dissappointed. Thank you Sally and Dave looking after us so well again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Lovely to see you both again. Sally and I are very pleased that you yet again enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House, and that you for taking the time to post a review. Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for weekend 8th & 9th March as surprise birthday treat for my partner after reading reviews. Was not disappointed. We arrived to a pot of tea and chocolate biscuits in front of a roaring log fire. David and Sally had put a birthday gift for my partner on our table at dinner and decorated the table which made his birthday special. Would stay again and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Sally & I are really pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Thank you so much for posting a review you time and comments are most appreciated. Hope we can welcome you back and see you again at Thorngarth house sometime in the future. Regards Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Thorngarth for 7 nights.That was the fourth time we have stayed there in the last 5 years. As another reviewer said, David and Sally continue to maintain the very highest of standards. In particular, their attention to detail is accompanied by a real warmth and personal touch. Accordingly, a stay at Thorngarth remains a delightful experience in every respect. We wholeheartedly recommend it and continue to regard it as one of the best places that we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. Sally and I are very pleased that you have again enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. As with the 48% returning guests over the past three years, we are very grateful and humbled at what our guests have to say and that they keep returning to Thorngarth House. There to, is so much to see and do in and around the Yorkshire Dales. Thanks once again and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Address: New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorngarth Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorngarth Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.