We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Scar Cave

White Scar Cave
1.5 miles from Ingleton, On the B6255 road to Hawes, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
+44 1524 241 244
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Ingleton
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Attraction details
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Really good trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a great time visiting the cave on a recent holiday to the dales. The guide was really good and showed us around looking at fossils and caverns i was so blown away. The price was really good for what you see and the shop on the entrance had good looking food and drinks with a gift shop that had some of the nicest stones i have ever seen!

I would definitely recommend this to anyone in this area!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    98
    17
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited a cave for the first time and found out I don't like caves, but it's a personal opinion, the guide was excellent and informative and it was priced very well. My wife really enjoyed it so if caves are your thing then you can't go wrong with this one

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First rate guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited the cave today- four adults and an 11 year old boy.
After being fitted with hard hats we were greeted by John, our guide.
It takes about 90 minutes to go along the cave and back and the commentary from John was first rate. He was knowledgeable about rock formation and the history of the cave.
He pointed out the rocks in the cave that were mentioned in the literature and also showed fossils in the walls.
On the way back we were shown the "budgie" amongst other things.
We were all more than happy with the whole experience. Well worth £8.50 each!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this trip,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A bit of a rush”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were really looking forward to this cave as last year we visited Ingleborough Cave and loved it. Sadly we were rushed along and the group was so big we couldn't hear the guides comments which meant all the points of interest where passed back by the other members of the group, by the time the info came to the back of the line we had a quick glimpse of what was pointed out and missed more than I care to think. Photography was limited to only on the way in because of the time limit and this was a pity.We felt the tour was just there for making money out of the visitors. The best bit was our arrival at the cavern at the end where the stalactite's were lit by ultraviolet light, that was stunning. Won't be visiting again, which is a shame.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveOfficial, Owner at White Scar Cave, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We understand that some of our visitors would enjoy more time in the cave than the standard tour of ninety minutes. That is why we set aside two or three days each year for visitors who wish to spend several hours appreciating and photographing the cave at their leisure. These days are announced, well in advance, on the events page of the cave's website. Any more than ninety minutes for the standard tour would be too long for many visitors. The tour covers one mile underground, so the average walking speed is only two thirds of a mile per hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Shocking attitude of staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited in 2012 to be turned away at 4.02 pm because we were 2 mins late !
They claimed that they sent all the staff home at 4 as there was no one there.
So come 2013. Eleven of us visited , arriving at 3.15. A tour was finishing as we arrived. As there was 11 of us we asked if we could go then rather than wait till 4 o'clock. 4 others were also waiting. Groups go out in15s.
The female was shocked we should make such a request. We asked her to consult with the manager . After a fair amount of huffing and puffing she disappeared.
Arriving back very quickly we were very rudely told its an extra £40 to go early !!!
Hmm, we are paying £100 and they want to surcharge. Must be wonderful to be able to turn business away.
Get in the real world Caves and realise your responsibilities to offer a polite service.
We will not be offering a third opportunity unless we are assured the staff have been removed !!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveOfficial, Owner at White Scar Cave, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our final tour of the day starts at 4pm. You arrived without a booking, and without the minimum number of people to be eligible for our group admission rate. We tried to oblige you, by offering either the next standard tour at 4pm, or an earlier tour with your own guide for an additional charge to bring you into line with our minimum group terms. While we were ascertaining what time a guide would become available to take you as a group, you left. That guide would have been available at 3.45pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Scar Cave also viewed

Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Aysgarth, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Scar Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Scar Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.