We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many mistakes” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marton Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marton Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Marton Arms Hotel
Thornton-in-Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too many mistakes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in May on a deal through North Country Inns. If this establishment is part of a chain, they need to take a serious look at their quality control processes.
For a start, we arrived at 8.0pm after a difficult journey because the main road from Carnforth to Ingleton was closed. We had eaten at lunch time and just wanted a sandwich or some sort of bar meal but that turned out to be too much to ask once the restaurant service had started.
Our room was tired, but comfortable, but it overlooked the garden used as overflow from the bar-restaurant, so noisy until chucking-out time. Breakfast was OK as long as you're not looking for continental, but my wife was a bit surprised to find a cold hollandaise on an order of eggs benedict and the service was the sort you might expect from an amiable but untrained amateur. We booked for dinner in the restaurant on our second night, turned up at the appointed time, stood waiting to be shown to our table and were ignored by bar manager (who had taken our oringinal booking) and the waitress (clearly overworked that night and still cross about it when she was on breakfast duty the next morning) while another couple who arrived a full 5 minutes later were dealt with. The food, when it eventually arrived, again was OK, but not worth its high-end price tag. We weren't tempted to stay for a dessert and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    48
    11
    13
    10
See reviews for
13
83
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I used to visit here most weekends back in my Caving days. It's not changed much really, apart from the distinct lack of real ale's. This place used to have at least 8/9 on the go! The room was pleasant and comfortable with nice views over the rear beer garden. The eating aspect was a bit of a mess though! The service was rather poor with not very attentive staff. We were left alone with dirty plates for 45mins. My partner ordered the fish off the specials board. The waitress came back and said it had gone! We tried something else and the same thing again. There excuse was they were changing the menu. In the end we were very limited in choice and ended up with meals that we didn't really fancy. Very average. We tried to order the haddock for breakfast and that wasn't available either. Apparently their fish supplier had let them down. Well it certainly let us down. Come on Marton, you can do better than this

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the Marton Arms Hotel. I have now looked into your comments and can confirm that during your visit there was a change over in chefs and therefore where in the middle of a menu change. I understand that from a guest’s point of view that this is not satisfactory. As for the service this is not to our usual standards and I have now taken the time to discuss these issues with the relevant people.

We trust you understand that from time to time things do not go according to plan, as in this instance, and offer our sincere apologies. It is your valuable feedback that helps us to positively move our business forward.

I hope that we have the oppotunity to welcome you back to the Marton Arms in the future.
Kind regards
Lesley, Matt and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed one nigh only, after undertaking the gruelling Yorkshire 3 Peaks.

Only issue is the use of the description en-suite bathroom, no bath only a shower.

Slept like a log, in a decent sized room overlooking the charming local church.

Breakfast was excellent, good choice, freshly cooked to order, and well presented.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you were unaware that all of our rooms have showers and not baths, I know that after such a long walk a bath would have been welcomed. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food and we very much hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards Lesley, Matthew and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Found this on Trip Advisor and have been pleased with choice. Warm old fashion welcome with well stocked bar and good value food with flair. Rooms comfortable, warm if a little dated.
Ample parking and staff friendly and obliging. Nice country pub atmosphere. Perfect location for outdoor activities. Prices very competitive for the rest of the area.

Room Tip: Lovely views over the dales from Room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do welcome it. I am pleased that you were not disappointed with your choice of accommodation and really look forward to welcoming you back to the Dales in the future.
Regards Lesley, Matt and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just had bank holiday weekend here. The staff can't do enough for you especially the Manageress. I don't know how many hours she works but she always seemed to be around. The bar and serving staff are very young but every one of them was professional and courteous. The food is fabulous and the portions massive. My other half was in heaven. Bit too much for me so had a starter and dessert the second night. Chocolate mousse to die for. Breakfast was very good, cereal, fruit juices, yoghurts, toast, tea and coffee, then a really good choice of hot food ranging from full English to eggs benedict, crumpets with scrambled eggs (which were the best I have ever eaten). Only about a mile from the Ingleton falls walk it is ideally situated. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor. It's an old building so with that comes squeaky floorboards but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Warm Regards Lesley, Matt and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a character inn with a good bar and restaurant. The staff are friendly. The rooms are a bit tired and could do with an overhaul. The ensuite has a strong shower. Room was warm, despite it blowing a gale and snowing outside when we visited. Plenty of free parking. Handy location by turning off the A65, but set back in a village and quiet. Stayed in room 1 - bit of disturbance from pub guests who were standing outside smoking quite late. Fantastic breakfast. Great location on the edge of the Dales - perfect for the three peaks or a trip on the Settle-Carlisle railway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location to your satisfaction. I understand that some of our bedrooms do need updated and this is work in progress.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Lesley, Matt and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It's great to see that the Marton Arms is back on form after a few below par years. 18 months ago we arrived on a Thursday night to find the bar all but closed and a refusal to honour the accommodation booking made 2 weeks previously. Whereas, on my recent stay I was met by friendly staff, the bedroom was warm and had obviously had a makeover and the food was excellent - dinner and breakfast. No more soggy chips hurragh! a sad feature of the Marton Arms even in its former glory days. Brilliant location for both the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District. It's heartening to see that the new management team have returned the Marton Arms to its previous high status. Even the collection of single malt whiskies is on the rise once again!

Room Tip: All great rooms in my experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Marton Arms and that we are living up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards Lesley and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Arms Hotel

Address: Thornton-in-Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Country Inn located 3/4 of a mile from Ingleton and just 6 miles away from Kirkby Lonsdale. We have 10 guest bedrooms, two of which have four poster beds, one twin bedroom and one family bedroom, the rest are double bedrooms. We are ideally located for the those doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks or visiting the White Scar Caves and Ingleton Waterfalls.All of our food is prepared freshly on site to order and we use locally sourced suppliers. For those Ale drinkers we have 8 Cask Ale hand pulls, which during the busy season we try and have all 8 on. During the quieter months this is not always possible. For those winter months we have two roaring log burning stoves in the bar and for the Summer months we have two lovely beer gardens, one out the front of the hotel looking over St Oswalds Church and one out the back looking over open fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Arms Ingleton
Marton Arms Hotel Ingleton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marton Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.