We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has really gone down hill...we won't return.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marton Arms

Marton Arms
| Thornton In Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
015242 41281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Ingleton
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a traditional Country Inn located 3/4 of a mile from Ingleton and just 6 miles away from Kirkby Lonsdale. We have 10 guest bedrooms, two of which have four poster beds, one twin bedroom and one family bedroom, the rest are double bedrooms. We are ideally located for the those doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks or visiting the White Scar Caves and Ingleton Waterfalls.All of our food is prepared freshly on site to order and we use locally sourced suppliers. For those Ale drinkers we have 8 Cask Ale hand pulls, which during the busy season we try and have all 8 on. During the quieter months this is not always possible. For those winter months we have two roaring log burning stoves in the bar and for the Summer months we have two lovely beer gardens, one out the front of the hotel looking over St Oswalds Church and one out the back looking over open fields. For the best available rates please look at the hotel website.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This place has really gone down hill...we won't return.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been going to the Marton Arms for over 25 years and have always found it a warm, welcoming pub with great choice of ales and good quality food. Sadly we have just visited and it was so bad we will not be returning. It was a Sunday afternoon and the pub was busy, but that isn't unusual.What was unusual was:-
- Children running around the bar area completely unfettered. We wondered where the parents where until it became clear that some of the children were with the staff. A family friendly pub is a good thing but this was more like a noisy, uncontrolled creche.
- Much reduced choice of ales. All the pumps are still there but very few are in use.
- Poor food. We only had sandwiches and chips. The bread was not the bloomer the menu promised. The prawn sandwich had lots of sauce and very few prawns on it. Those that there were had crunchy shell still on them, so poor care in the kitchen.
- Poor service. The bar staff were inexperienced and service was therefore very slow. During and after our meal no-one staff asked if everything was ok or if we wanted anything else.

There are so many other good pubs in the area that we will not be back to the Marton Arms, prefering to remember it when it was at its best.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we do welcome it. We have only been operating Marton since April but have been told by many guests that it did have a wonderful reputation several years ago. I cannot comment on tenants/operators since then but it is our goal to restore the business towards its former reputation. This will take time and hard work but we are committed to offering quality and value to our customers and we operate a value policy to all guests.

We inherited a bar with 16 handpumps for real ales which is rather over the top. Several either do not function or are faulty and we do intend to address this. We do endeavor to offer a good selection of real ales, keg beers, wines and spirits (particularly whisky). I note that you recommend we improve our offering. Obviously it is difficult to stock everybody’s favorites’ at any one time but I do welcome you to advise me what you would like to see available.

All of our food is freshly prepared from local produce by our chef. This can take a little longer than fast food outlets, particularly at busy times and I apologize that you were not advised that there might be a delay. Our value policy is designed to allow us to satisfy customer expectations and it would never be a problem to increase portion size.

We try to be family friendly and obviously child control in a public place can be a subjective issue. I regret that your experience was diminished by this.

You are most welcome to support us in the future at any of our outlets and we will respond to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    6
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expensive Food, Small Portions & Rude Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Expensive meals, £4 for 3 slices of bread & butter as a starter, £12 for 3 sausages & a small dollop of mash. Very rude staff, not helpful & unwilling to help without complaining.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Rawy, Thank you for your review, we always encourage customer feedback which enables the development of our product. Our business is about providing a quality product in a comfortable and friendly environment which is value for money. We expect staff commitment to offering our guests outstanding service and food. We also run a value policy for all customers which was operated for you. I regret that you did not enjoy your Marton Arms experience, I assure you that I will reinforce our company values to all staff. Regards Matt&Lesley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pub Atmosphere is Improving But Drinks and Food are Over Priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Been coming to the Marton Arms on and off for the past three years since buying a place in nearby Ingleton - seen at least three changes of landlord in that time.

When the new tenants took over in Spring 2012 things initially seemed to improve with the internal layout and a good real ale selection (Doombar/London Pride) plus a good choice of others - but at high prices. Beer selection has reduced drastically since then sadly, food and wine still expensive.

Early momentum for improving the interior seems to have slowed, could still do with replacing old fashioned lights and old carpet. Service is OK, but not overly warm.

The pub could be fabulous - here's hoping the prices come down a little, the real range impoves and the interior continues to be updated.

At the moment would I recommend it to a friend - probably not!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dropped in for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The staff were very friendly, great music and comfortable eating area.
Food was not cheap but was very tasty and we enjoyed our lunch.
They also made the dog welcome and provided drinking water for him.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

went to martonarms for mums 95th birthday with my son grandson greatgreat granddaughter husband and babys mum wewere disapointed with the meals for the price they charge we expected some thing lovely but it was poor chicken supreem was chicken breast with gravy on 3 small new potatoes 1 florett of coulli price £13 94 sausage and mash was 3 grissly sausages on new potsthat had been mashed .scampi and chips the chips were reheated not fresh. will not go there again it spoilt it for mums birthday treat.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marton Arms also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Marton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.