We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast
Chapel le Dale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Firstly, I rarely leave reviews for anything. Never knowing what to say, but Croftgate is something special. Everything about the time we spent there was just perfect, we were lucky enough to have fantastic weather and made the most of it travelling to the lake district which is around an hours drive away and to the coast which takes about an hour also. It is set in a location that is picturesque itself and handy for so many more great places. The hosts, Jean and Martin are warm and friendly but unobtrusive. Being a quiet person and more likely to choose a hotel than a b&b, I was soon chatting away to Martin at breakfast time, surprising myself! His enthusiasm for what he does is contagious and you can't help but be drawn in, chatting about all sorts of things!
The breakfast choice is very good and tastes fantastic, the granola and fruit compote were a favourite of mine and the whole breakfast experience was better than anywhere I have stayed both in Britain and Europe.
The fact that when you book the Shippon suite, you are the sole guests is great, making it feel even more special.
The toiletries that they make and sell are lovely and I looked forward to using them, I had to buy a bottle to take home!
We will definitely return at some point and I already class this as one of my favourite places to be.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I booked this hotel with my partner to celebrate his birthday in November 2012 (taken a while to get round to this review!)

We had the most amazing time. We booked the Shippon Suite so had the entire place to ourselves. When we arrived we were met by our welcoming hosts, chocolates, fresh fruit and a roaring log fire.
Martin and June were fantastic. The breakfast was like a banquet, served in our private lounge, which set us up for our walks each day. Junes packed lunches hit the spot on the top of the hills too - never had Yorkshore rascal before... and it was delightful.

We didnt know the area at all but thankfully Martin was on hand to advise us of beautiful walks and local pubs! His knowledge of the local area and stories before breakfast had us entertained and set our mood for the days.

Our room was beautifully decorated, with soft fresh towels and bathrobes. There were lovely paintings on the walls and wide array of books to peruse. We didnt want for anything the entire visit. After our days hiking we were able to cuddle up on the sofa in front of the log fire that met us when we returned home. We were even lent a copy of Wuthering Heights to watch one blustery evening.

The Yorkshire Dales took our breath away, but i think the personal touches and overwhelmingly welcoming service from Martin and June at Croft Gate made our holiday. We cant wait to go back. Thanls Martin and June! xxx

Room Tip: Book the Shippon Suite and have the entore place to yourselves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Took my girlfriend away for her birthday last week and could not have picked a better place to stay. We took the Shippon Suite which is basically the whole place minus another room upstairs but if you take the suite they make sure you are the only gusts. I looked around for quite a few places and have to say I'm really pleased I chose this one. Its in a really good location for getting around (Ribble Head, Settle, Hawes, Kirby Lonsdale, 3 peaks etc) but feels very rural and you get an incredible view of the peaks from just outside. The quality of accommodation was excellent, the breakfasts completely fresh and local and in abundance with a really good menu (my girlfriend is a Veggie and had lots to choose from). The couple that run the place clearly know what they are doing and are really welcoming and helpful with lots of advice on local places and how to get there etc. We came away from our 2 night stay really refreshed and happy. I would have actually expected to pay a little more for the high standard we got from this pace and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great welcome, lovely rooms, helpful hosts, superb breakfasts, and stunning location.

Need I say more?!

Ribblehead Viaduct is about 3 miles away and there's a nice pub 10 minutes walk up the road (food and beer good there too). Great location for the three peaks and other walks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night break in the Shippon Suite at Croft Gate and we could not have chosen a better B & B.

It was such a luxury to have our own private lounge to relax in at night time with a roaring wood burning stove and was well worth paying the little bit extra per night.

Jean's breakfasts were extremely tasty and cooked to perfection. I am not a big fan of a full english breakfast so I really appreciated the wide choice of alternatives, especially the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on home made bread. We also loved Martin's home made granola which was very tasty as a topping on top of the fruit compotes with yogurt.The Visit England breakfast award is well deserved.

Martin was an excellent host, warm and friendly with a wide local knowledge of things to do and places to visit.

There were many thoughtful touches included such as OS maps, walking books, leaflets, chocolates, fresh flowers, fresh milk, bathrobes, nice tolietries, fresh fruit etc.

The whole B&B was spotless and oozed quality.This is simply the best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at Croft Gate recently for 4 nights and had a wonderfully relaxing time. We were blessed with nice weather for autumn and made the most of it walking every day. The owners Martin and June are lovely and set you up for the day with the most wonderful breakfast, made with local produce and there is always something different to try every day. For our trip we hired out the Chippon suite with its roaring coal fire and comfy sofa it made the stay extra special,nothing better than warming up by the fire after a long days walking! We would not hesitate to come back and will be doing as soon as we get the chance. Danielle Lomax and Michael Whittaker October 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast for our honeymoon in the Yorkshire Dales and didn't regret a single minute.

We were welcomed by Martin and June on arrival and were surprised to find a special request from family members to have a gorgeous bunch of red roses and bottle of champagne had been provided. Lovely!

We booked the Shippon Suite and it was lovely. We never heard a sound in the evenings but then again we were so tired from days out we got back and fell asleep.

The breakfasts are wholly recommended, especially the full English and home made bread. The extras such as home made banana bread, muffins and little yogurt and fruit from the garden dishes were very tasty! They really did set us up well for the day ahead.

The room itself was really nice, clean and always tidy upon our return each day. The room really did provide us with a lovely relaxing break.

Martin who provided breakfast every morning was very nice and all his recommendations on things to do were well worth a visit, it was just a shame we could not get around to all of them!

When we eventually had to reluctantly depart we were provided with a little goody bag with some freshly made banana cake for the journey home! A very pleasant surprise.

Overall we had a really lovely stay and wholly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a lovely, welcoming stay in the Yorkshire Dales. We will definitely be returning!!

It was evident Martin and June take great pride in Croft Gate and it shows in almost every way. It really made for a lovely honeymoon!

Room Tip: The Shippon Suite was lovely and meant we were the only guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: Chapel le Dale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft Gate Bed And Breakfast Ingleton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.