We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gourmet food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Sandpiper Inn
Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5AT, England
+44 (0)1969 622206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $59
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“gourmet food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

while passing through we just went in to see what is there and ended up spedning 2 hours there! Supposedly the chefs here are winners of some cooking competition. though the proportions of food were less, it was tasty and nicely presented. the place is small and cosy and you can sit outside as well as inside. a perfect place for a little sunday lunch on a summer day. Though a little expensive but surely worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    60
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Anniversary Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were on our way to Hawes for fish and chips but decided to look around Leyburn and called in on the Sandpiper for lunch without a booking most unusual for me. I must say what a delight this pub is, with its warm friendly service good beer and wonderful cooking. We both went for the slow cooked lamb daphanous potatoes, my wife followed with fresh strawberries and meringue and cream and I with sticky toffee pudding, we recommend anyone to sample this top quality food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well presented food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Quality of food excellent but not a lot of it ! Most people would go away feeling still hungry , what a shame as the plates were beautifully presented. We had three very small vegetables with our lamb and a small amount of potato, ok if you don't like many veg . Desert priced at £7.50 is quite expensive having visited other local good quality food restaurants, it was good but my colleague had one very small scoop of ice cream which was hollow ! I think the Sandpiper is a great place and lovely local food but at least offer extra veg maybe . Service was ok but no chat just take your order and no thank you . Being in the holiday trade I have to be much more welcoming to my customers or they do not return. Maybe spend a little more time with your new customers .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cracking lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Sat outside at lunchtime in the sun and had some really top notch food. The main dinning room looked fantastic but we took the opportunity to eat outside. Beautifully presented plates with loads of flavour. Also quite generous portions too. Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food in warm, homely inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked a night here on our way to Newcastle. Seemed a lot less expensive than many other places in the area for a period room at an inn. The rooms had been very tastefully refurbished which kept all the character of the original features. We also booked a meal which was absolutely fantastic. We routinely eat at Michelin restaurants in London and the food wouldn't be misplaced at such establishments, I would guess for the area the meals are potentially quite expensive but the restaurant was pretty full. I also had the scallops and pork belly which were amazing. Would heartily recommend both food and accommodation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Inn also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.