We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dragon Inn Chinese Restaurant, Ripon” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dragon Inn

The Dragon Inn
41 Market Place South, Leyburn hg4 1bz, England
01765 606469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 38 Restaurants in Leyburn
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Dragon Inn Chinese Restaurant, Ripon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As a Ripon resident, I have eaten At all of the Chinese restaurants here and had their takeaways. Never been a fan of the Dragon's food, but our friends insisted on going as the decor is better than my favourite. Our party was 7 people. Had Half crispy duck to share as a starter. One meal each, two fried rice to share, two noodle and two drinks each. £133. That's £20 a head nearly. If the food was good, I wouldn't complain. portions at small, seems to be more gravy and veg than meat, sweet an sour sauce, I am sure would light up in the dark. Plenty of staff kicking around all busy on a Sat night, but I don't think one had a smile on their face, infect all looked grumpy. I didn't feel as if they appreciated our business, just happy, or un happy to throw food on table and take the money. There location dead in centre of town and decor is the only thing going for it. If the price reflected the meal, I would have marked higher. This review is for a Saturday night. If you eat at lunch time on Thursday and Friday, it's about £5 for a three course meal with tea or coffee. Now that great value and I would recommend. May have caught them on a bad night, but, come on, smile and show some gratitude.....oh, wife said wine was disgusting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    8
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Masham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere - food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I ate at the Dragon Inn Restaurant, Ripon this week and had a reasonable but unremarkable meal. The salt and pepper ribs lacked flavour and when we asked for sweet chilli sauce the sauce we were given lacked flavour too. Our main course was edible but also low on flavour. The bill £27 for 2 with 2 Chinese beers and a coke was reasonable and the service was prompt and unobtrusive. The atmosphere was good and the staff polite. The chef is letting everyone else down which is a shame because it has always been much better in the past.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food better service at the take out...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked for a party of 9 for a 25th birthday, arrived at the restaurant to have to battle through a mass of customers waiting for take away in the doorway.. and others were moved from our reserved table as we sat down. Staff too busy dealing with take out orders to be attentive to our needs in the restaurant. Drinks orders were finally taken some 15mins after seating. 2 bottles of wine 1 white 1 rose several soft drinks. Soft drinks poured from mainstream brand bottles behind the counter the sort you buy from your local supermarket 4 for £5.00 and charged at £1.50 a half pint glass. wine reasonably priced, house white at £10.50/bottle and a french rose at £12.50 bottle, however wine was served to the table without coolers granted the waiter did offer a taste on the rose before leaving the bottle. I had to ask 3 times for a wine cooler for the rose bottle and twice more on the second bottle which took an eternity to arrive.
Meals: Starters mains no deserts, starters mixed between soups and ribs.. first soup arrived at the table followed some 5 minutes (i exaggerate not to the point it was complained about directly to the so called manager who spent the whole night behind the bar barking at staff and leisurely chatting to the customers) later by the second soup, some 5 minutes after that the ribs arrived. starters were swiftly cleared and we had a 35 min wait for mains which came out in the very drib drab way as before, 2 portions of chips were forgotten, 1 fried rice portion was missing, a curry was served but the rice ordered with it was nowhere to be found and had to be asked for.. Staff obviously over run with work, the restaurant had another two parties around our size and 5 or 6 tables of between 2 and 6 persons. at the end of the meal we were offered deserts and a complimentary ice cream with a candle was brought out to the birthday girl.
Despite prior complaint the bill was brought to the table without any form of discount and i was met with a shy manager when it was complained about the bill total was £155.50 and the best they would do for the total shambles of service was knock off £10.00 now im not one to complain as a rule but i cannot abide substandard service when the prices are as high as they are here, begrudgingly we accepted this good will paid the bill and got out.. needless to say i will not return.. Dragon Inn its about time you became the Dragon Take out and concentrated on doing that properly as well as there was several people i noticed bring their take out orders back..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We having been here several times in the last couple of months and always had fast and efficient service and really good Chinese food. This week we took our daughter and granddaughter and had a marvelous family feast. The staff were friendly and made the whole experience really enjoyable. The food was very reasonable in price and beautifully presented. £50 for the 4 of us including soft drinks and Chinese beers for the adults.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice lunch at a good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Thursday lunchtime, place was packed, but it was valentines day, service fine on a set priced menu. Good ambience mix of families, couples and older people, no -one appeared to be complaining. Service a bit too swift maybe had barely put fork down n plate on its way out! Drinks abit overpriced but overall pleasant. Toilets in need of a lick of paint.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dragon Inn also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dragon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.