We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dick Turpin rides again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Penleys Cafe and Bistro

Penleys Cafe and Bistro
Wilco 2010 Limited | 5 - 6 Trinity Church Square Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5BJ, England
+44 1969 623909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 40 Restaurants in Leyburn
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dick Turpin rides again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Beware of the Caesar salad which consisted of 3 Cos lettuce leaves, 2 cherry tomatoes, 1/2 chicken breast sliced very roughly accompanied with a dollop of Tesco's mayonaisse ..... great value at £8.10 !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    20
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unchanging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I call in for coffee once or twice a year and it never fails to satisfy. Big mug of piping hot cappuccino, clean and comfortable, great service from the two delightful young ladies on duty. I just wish the place attracted more custom.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Never been disapointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have a friend in Leyburn so visit here often. Always get an excellent lunch. Have also been on many occasions and had a great breakfast, I like the fact that you can 'build' your own breakfast. really sad that one of the reviewers was very disappointed..has always been good quality produce ( my partner a farmer we can know our sausages!) excellent and attentive staff. Have had to wait a while on some occasions but have always been for-warned of this. Great coffee!Can recommend the rib eye steak always cooked perfection!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Decent lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We popped into this cafe/restaurant for a quick lunch whilst out and about. Leyburn is a small market town, very picturesque and functional at the same time. There is parking on the market square in the middle and very close to the venue. The restaurant is deceptively large and goes back a fair way with a number of tables and a large service/bar area. We ordered wraps, which were billed as being served with chips and salad. When they arrived they were very tasty but the chips and salad were no more than a token gesture. However to be fair the food was warm, well cooked and filling, all in all very enjoyable. It is a pleasant place to eat and the service is both pleasant and prompt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid breakfast here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visited today, VERY disappointed!!!
We planned a stop in Leyburn for breakfadt after an hours drive on our way to Aysgarth, Reeth, Hawes for the day.
To start with there are no set breakfasts, there is almost of priced breakfast items and you "build your own " breakfast. Coffee was lovely and hot too, breakfast too a long time which I thought was a good sign, but when it came the first thing I noticed was that my fried egg had been broken when cracked but fried anyway and could have stood up on its own! Secondly I noticed the plated were stone cold, not room temperature, stone cold!!! My food was cold long before I finished!! I hadn't ordered sausages, but my hubby had, these were cheap and nasty, frozen and deep fried. Black pudding was 1 slice and 95p!! So very disappointing. The staff were totally hidden from us once we had been served so we had no one to complain to and actually didn't re-appear until we were leaving the door. £15 for 2 cold, cheaply sourced, deep fried, over priced breakfasts did not put us off to the best start of the day.
Would never recommend!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penleys Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Penleys Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penleys Cafe and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.