We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penleys Cafe and Bistro

Penleys Cafe and Bistro
Wilco 2010 Limited | 5 - 6 Trinity Church Square Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5BJ, England
+44 1969 623909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 40 Restaurants in Leyburn
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
North yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went to penleys for a meal and had a really nice time. The service was pleasant very cheerful staff. The food came hot nicely arranged on the plate and tasted great. One of the best steaks around. The place was nice and warm but be warned if it's cold outside and you sit in the window you sometimes end up feeling a chill. But do not let it put you off if you go in before 7.15 you can get a deal on two or three courses.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    20
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunchtime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Love it, nice, warm and cosy. Ideal for a lunchtime snack. Pleasant waitresses. Plenty of scope for menu.
Will return next time I am passing through Leyburn

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We found this cafe when we visited Leyburn today. It came recommended by a local we stopped in the market place, often the best way to find good breakfast. They commended it particularly because every individual breakfast item could be selected. We liked the spacious layout, the comfortable seats and the view of the marketplace.

The breakfast was good. I can see the benefit of the ordering each item rather than a set breakfast though in practice this makes ordering for others slightly complicated. In the end, it’s just easier if everyone goes up to the till. We thought it would be helpful if there was a standard breakfast. Thankfully, it wasn’t overly expensive and most of the breakfast items were of good quality as were the tea and coffee. The staff were efficient and we didn’t wait long for our breakfast.

I would be happy enough to return to Penley's Coffee Shop and Bistro next time we find ourselves in Leyburn. I'd also be happy enough to try others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb Club Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We called in on New Years Day and got two of the above and they were superb. The bacon in them was about the best I have had and the chips and dressed salad were lovely. We were both very impressed. The ingredients were top class. Staff were nice and warned of wait as it was so busy. 10/10

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had the early bird menu and thoroughly enjoyed everything about our visit. We had the scampi and steak and ale pie, both excellent. Desserts were imaginative and tasty - we had lemon flan with cassis and blueberry and vanilla cheesecake. Would recommend the food, service and atmosphere of Penley's. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penleys Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Penleys Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penleys Cafe and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.