We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval but still feels alive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton Castle

Bolton Castle
Leyburn DL8 4ET, England
01969 623981
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 attractions in Leyburn
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
South Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Medieval but still feels alive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We chose the self-directed version of the tour of Castle Bolton. Most of the the rooms have plaques explaining the function of the room and the occupation or role of the individual(s) who occupied the room. So we don't feel our experience at CB was lessened by not having a guide. The tour of the castle ascends several floors, and the stone stairwells are spiraling, but not claustrophobic like Warwick Castle (which I very highly recommend, by the way) or the Tower of London. Each room is different, and you get the sense that the higher the room within the castle, the greater importance of the individual who occupied that room. There are enough furnishings and period pieces in most of the rooms to convey the feeling of what it was like to live in the castle. This makes the castle still feel "alive" despite falling into disuse many centuries ago. The top of the castle is open to the elements, and moderately acrophobic, but perfectly safe, with sturdy metal hand rails installed, and metal grates over the lower openings. Climbing to the top is worth the fleeting fear of heights to enjoy view of the bucolic countryside.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    67
    20
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peace, views and a taste of medieval life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love Bolton castle and have visited many times over the past 20 years or so. It's so atmospheric, with lots left to your imagination - rather than a patronising Disney-esque re-creation. The setting is amazing and the views across the valley are incredible. The changes Tom has made over the last few years have been tasteful, imaginative and in-keeping with such a treasured family seat. However could I suggest a bar/restaurant in the tea rooms a few evenings a week? People would love that experience - and with so many wonderful local breweries and food producers it could be fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great example of a Medieval Castle. Enjoyed the Falconry display and the small church across the road. Took a great picture of Mary Queen of Scots bedroom

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful castles in England!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've been here with my mum and grandad before a while ago and I came here with my sister. We both really enjoyed it because the scenery was great and the rooms were well renevated so it was absolutely beautiful. The views were also very exhilerating as well so it was a really good historical site to go. Gift Shop was quite expensive but overall, the attraction is a good place to visit.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very disappointing visit considering we paid £30.00. Will not be visiting again. Save your money and enjoy looking at the surrounding views and maybe take a walk around.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton Castle also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bolton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bolton Castle to your Saves list