We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated in centre of Helmsley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Swan

Black Swan
Market Place | Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
01439 770466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Helmsley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: British, Brasserie, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Black Swan at Helmsley offers a warm Yorkshire welcome, with a history dating back five centuries. Now a four-star boutique hotel, it combines antiques alongside contemporary art in its colourful interior. A stay here gives you time to unwind and savour delicious menus in the hotels newly refurbished three AA-Rosette restaurant, The Gallery, where seasonal Yorkshire dishes are given a creative and cosmopolitan twist. The hotel is also home to a gem of a Tearoom where you can enjoy an afternoon tea in the award winning tearoom, or beside one of its many log fires.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well situated in centre of Helmsley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We did not stay, just had afternoon tea but was excellent. The service was good and we were served by a lovely Polish gentleman who was very friendly. The tea itself was perfect, scones and cakes all lovely. It was a beautiful day and there were lots of people sitting in the garden, either drinking or having afternoon teas. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    54
    21
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exquisite food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have visited twice now because we had such a luxurious experience. Enjoyed the ten course taster menu which was pure decadence but also really fun to eat, we spent 4 hours (!) giggling like children over our dinner and were made to feel extremely welcome and well looked after. We returned for our anniversary and had 6 courses which also did not disappoint and offered free tea/coffee and presented with a lovely anniversary slate of chocolates. We weren't made to feel like a nuisance when we moved seats several times and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Local food that appears to be made with a lot of love and attention. The bedrooms are beautiful, spacious and we were pleasantly surprised with home-made chocolates and strawberries on arrival for our anniversary and all the staff are helpful and very friendly. Can't speak highly enough if this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly Service & Lovely Food for a Special Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were staying in Helmsley as a base during Le Tour de France in Yorkshire and selected this as a lovely looking place to have a birthday dinner. We were not disappointed. Very welcoming, fabulous service and great selection. Thought the pricing was good, given the quality of the food. Can really recommend the Yorkshire Duck and the Feather of Beef. Cheese Trolley was gorgeous. Delicious food, lovely unpretentious atmosphere. Highly recommended for a special night out, but busy so recommend booking

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very stylish old hotel, comfy sofas & chairs to peruse the menu. A la carte or 2 courses for £25. Food superb, but need to book to get your preferred time in high season. The chocolates that came with coffee were divine!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights dinner, bed & breakfast and my wife and I were very impressed with the attention to detail in every respect. Our suite was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff throughout the hotel were professional but very friendly and accommodating. The evening meal was very differently presented but the quality and taste was always excellent. Breakfast was one of the best we have had. Well done to all the management and staff for keeping up standards in this wonderful old hotel, other establishments that we have recently stayed at in North Yorkshire could learn a lot from a visit to this wonderful hotel!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Swan also viewed

 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.