We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find, in a delightful town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Swan

Black Swan
Market Place | Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
01439 770466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: $13 - $47
Cuisines: British, Brasserie, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Black Swan at Helmsley offers a warm Yorkshire welcome, with a history dating back five centuries. Now a four-star boutique hotel, it combines antiques alongside contemporary art in its colourful interior. A stay here gives you time to unwind and savour delicious menus in the hotels newly refurbished three AA-Rosette restaurant, The Gallery, where seasonal Yorkshire dishes are given a creative and cosmopolitan twist. The hotel is also home to a gem of a Tearoom where you can enjoy an afternoon tea in the award winning tearoom, or beside one of its many log fires.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful find, in a delightful town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a fantastic lunch stop for us on our way to see Rievaulx Abbey and Ampleforth Abbey. Indeed, it clearly would be a fine stop for any meal, at any time of day. We were recommended by some well-informed local women in Welburn close to where we stayed; we also noted the Black Swan in a most useful brochure we had, "Delicious Trail". We thoroughly enjoyed some excellent, imaginative food. Service also was delightful

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    45
    20
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wimbledon 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came to the Wimbledon Event that was held for the Men's Finals on Sunday 7th July. We didn't quite know what to expect, but it was lovely. We were met on arrival with a glass of champagne and shown to our table in the garden at the back of the hotel. A beautiful setting for a warm Sunday afternoon. The garden was decorated in a tennis theme, with decorations around the garden and on the tables - complete with a bowl of 'Murray' mints for the occasion. We were all left with details of how the afternoon would be spent - when we would be served our afternoon tea etc. There was a big screen at the top of the garden so everyone could see the tennis clearly.All the food was lovely, and the desserts with the tennis theme were a lovely touch. All staff were friendly and helpful - although clearing tables at match point didn't go down very well. All in all a really pleasant day - helped by the result of course. Only gripe is maybe staff needed to wait until breaks in play before clearing up, but still worth every penny - thanks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Afternooon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Afternoon Tea Experience is amazing, a wonderful selection of freshly baked cakes and sandwiches and they'll box up anything you can't manage for later too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“how nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

called in for just a drink and had a lovely time. it is very posh .loads of different rooms with some lush furnishing and a lovely beer garden. slightly pricey but you pay for the setting

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch in the tearoom!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have previously stopped at the Hotel and experienced the superb taster menu for dinner. On that occasion the service and experience were second to none. I would even go so far to say that I enjoyed the meal more than the Michelin starred meal at L'Enclume (Cartmel). What a disappointment the lunch was in the tearoom!! The head waitress was distinctly frosty and all I can assume is that she was having a very bad day. The ham sandwich was perfectly acceptable if a little underwhelming. For £8.50 I would at least expect some salad on the side. I would rush back to the restaurant but will give the tearoom a miss until they up their game.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Swan also viewed

 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.