We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Centre for Birds of Prey

International Centre for Birds of Prey
The Parkland Centre | Duncombe Park, Helmsley YO62 5EB, England
+44 844 742 2035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 attractions in Helmsley
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The International Centre for Birds of Prey at Duncombe Park is the largest collection of these amazing birds in the north of England. You will find over 100 owls, eagles, vultures, falcons, hawks kites and more in a spacious 10 acre setting.Founded in Gloucestershire in 1967 the ICBP is a world leader in the breeding of birds of prey. The brand new Duncombe Park branch will build on this, and other achievements.We have a team of trained bird who fly 3 times a day (11.30, 14.00 And 16.15). Different birds are flown at each demo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

An excellent day out at this small but well laid out and well run centre. The falconers who gave the 2 diplays we watched were superb in their knowlege, their rapport with the audience and their down to earth presentation.
fascilities on the site were good especially the food outlet. also in general the disabled access was good although my wife, who walks with the aid of a "rollator" (wheeled walking aid) did have a few problems avoiding the ocassional larger stones set into the otherwise shingle layed pathways but I'm sure that given time these obstacles will gradually disappear with wear!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieH360, Owner at International Centre for Birds of Prey, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for you review.

We know that there are some slight issues with some of the paths. The type and size of the gravel for the paths was specified as part of a planning condition.

However - we are working on it and all should be sorted before too long.

Thanks for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    23
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meikleour, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great day out for the family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

fantastic day out ,lovely birds on display, and flight display was also great. well worth visiting . And don't forget to visit the tearoom delicious food .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived at the centre at 10am planning to stop for two hours, we actually stopped until closing time at 5pm. There were many more birds than we have seen at other centres, the birds all looked in a good condition and not stressed. The three flying displays were simply stunning, with different birds in each display, twelve birds altogether. The staff were friendly and knew their subject. They showed much commitment to their birds, much more than just a job. On a practical note, there was a small but good café again with real friendly staff and the toilets were just as at 5 pm as they were at 10am. A good day out and great value for money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small but Great Attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This attraction was very well set out with great views of all the birds. The Hawk Walk, where then majority of birds are out of the cages and you can get up really really close was brilliant. All the staff were friendly and informative and ready to talk about any of the birds you wanted to. The only thing I would say, is that we got round the whole place in 1 hour going relatively slowly, with an additional 45 minutes for the flying display. I'd make sure you go at a time near to one of the flying displays to take full advantage. They have 3 flying displays each day and different birds are seen at each one, so if you can time your visit to see two displays, even better. There is a lovely tea room here and also a good picnic area with fantastic views over the countryside.
The attraction is situated in Duncombe Park, which is a lovely estate, so we took full advantage of this and did the River walk (there is also a countryside walk) , this was all included in the ticket price, and it was a lovely estate to walk round, with plenty of sheep and dog walkers to see on the way as well as the exterior of main house and plenty of features and follies.
This attraction is quite rural and if you're coming from York I'd recommend coming up the B1363 for a very scenic journey to add to the experience.
Overall it's a very well set out and well run attraction that deserves to do well.
Please be aware that although the birds of prey centre is open on Saturday, the grounds and the parkland is not (according to the website).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farndale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Brilliant Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited the centre on Saturday with our 4 year old son. We had a brilliant time. The whole place was well laid out, clean and tidy. The staff clearly love what they do and it shows. The whole family enjoyed the demonstrations. The only criticism we would have is that the same bird was flown in both demonstrations despite being told they would be different. The keepers notes make for interesting reading.

Overall highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieH360, Owner at International Centre for Birds of Prey, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for coming - and thanks for leaving such a positive review. Everyone works so hard and it is wonderful to know it is appreciated.

Just to clarify - we do fly different birds in each demo. However we do have several Lanner Falcons and Harris Hawks; you may have seen the same species in two different demos - but it would have been a different bird.

I am glad you liked the "Keeper's Notes"; when funds allow we will have more - they are very popular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Centre for Birds of Prey also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to International Centre for Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Centre for Birds of Prey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added International Centre for Birds of Prey to your Saves list