We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Much improved since our last visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotts of Helmsley

Scotts of Helmsley
6 Bridge Street | Helmsley, North Yorkshire, Helmsley yo62 5bg, England (Formerly Beechers Fish and Chips)
01439772465
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Helmsley
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent. Much improved since our last visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our fish and chips on Good Friday, the takeaway was extremely busy,had to wait quite awhile, but was defiantly worth the wait.Longer opening hours are better too

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments.
We're pleased you came to try us again. We've really only been in ownership for a couple of months and there has been many things to work on. We do feel we are getting there although sorry you had a little wait. Good Friday was very busy, with the sunshine helping to bring people out? We normally cook all our fish to order to ensure freshness and quality, which does mean a short wait, but worth it we think? Hope to see back soon. Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    37
    22
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Helen W - Pickering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Decided to visit Scotts as we had heard and read great reviews. Good Friday seemed an ideal opportunity. Excellent! I had a massive fish cake which was delicious and the chips were nicely cooked and not fatty. Husband had Haddock & chips and thoroughly enjoyed them. Lovely ambience and very cheerful team who couldn't do enough to make sure our visit was enjoyable. We will definately be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Helen,
Thanks for the review. The fishcake is getting a regular following. Shane, our Chef Manager has brought his own award winning fishcake recipe with him. All fresh ingredients are used and the fishcakes are available in the restaurant or as a take away. Good to hear hubby enjoyed it as well. We've been working on the interior and we're all pleased to hear your comments. Come back soon. Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good fish and chips in a modern environment. My only criticism is that the Toilet too near seating area.
I would go again for fish and chips

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi and thanks for your comments. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the fish and chips. I presume you sat downstairs and close to the disabled toilet? Unfortunately, there is little we can do to change the location of that toilet. However, as well as the 25 seats downstairs, we have 50 seats upstairs, with Gent and Ladies toliets well away from the eating area.
We will make sure you get seated upstairs next time. See you again soon.
Best wishes Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, Shame about the service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited many times (sit in and take out) and had the same experience EVERY time so at least you could say it's consistent. The food is faultless but the service is shocking. On both sit in and take away members of staff saw me waiting and ignored me until they were ready to serve. If its busy a simple 'were busy so I'll be with you shortly' would be nice. On 1 occasion for sit in I was with 3 family members and told to stand and wait until they got tables cleared (there was only 1 table seated and no dirty tables and no one in takeaway..) we waited 10 minutes and were told by a different member of staff that they were short staffed and could not seat us!!! I have been informed on numerous occasions that they were understaffed as if to justify the poor service.
Sort out the service and your on to a winner.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments. 'Sort out the service and your on to a winner.'
You've hit the nail on the head, as that is what we thought before buying the place. We are now a couple of months in and we are working hard to improve customer service. Recent reviews will show we are making progress, but we can still do better. Our team, who are new to the business are committed to customer service. I am interested to know when you last visited, which day and roughly what time, as I would like to investigate further and discuss with the staff on duty that day. Please call 01439 772465 and talk with Shane or leave your number and I will call you personally. Thanks Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton le Fylde, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Scotts of Helmsely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I always make a point of dining at this excellent fish and chip restaurant and takeaway whenever we visit Helmsley (usually a couple of times a year) and it never fails to impress us.
The service is friendly and efficient, the restaurant is a delight to spend an evening in, the food freshly prepared and you can even enjoy a glass (or bottle) of chilled wine!
The a la carte selection is superb value for money and we can't wait for the promised additions to the menu in the near future. Next time we visit Helmsley we will be booking in for another first rate meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Robin,
Thanks for the review and we are all pleased you and your wife enjoyed your visit.
It is so satisfying for our team to hear such good comments, as we strive to provide quality, value and service with a smile. Look out for our new staff 'Scotts' uniforms coming next week.
Hope to welcome you both back to Helmsley very soon. Best wishes. Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotts of Helmsley also viewed

 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scotts of Helmsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotts of Helmsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.